We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have stayed stayed several times over recent years.
This hotel is simply delightful.
Rooms are lovely.
Food is glorious.
Staff are brilliant.
The courtyard is a little bare!
Great value for money.
I cannot wait to return in 2013. Staying feels like such a treat. Would be lovely to have a beauty room offering head and body massages that one could attend in ones dressing gown and then return to room.
Llandeilo is beautiful and upmarket.
Anyone who does not love The Cawdor Arms needs help. TOTALLY ignore the couple of negative reviews. Must have been written by very unhappy people with other problems in life.

Room Tip: Llandeilo has one main road through it. The Cawdor Arms is on this road. I have not found this a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    135
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
238
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in the Carreg Cennen room right in the top of the hotel. A beautiful large room, large comfortable bed, huge double shower and bath and 2 seating areas.
This time of the year there are only bar meals available on Sunday evening, but they were very good and very reasonably priced. A good wine list. Good choice of different cooked egg dishes at breakfast. Would have liked fruit salad, croissants and a better bread choice, but overall it was very good. Very helpful, friendly staff.
Afternoon tea looked fantastic. Would certainly recommend this hotel. Llandeilo is a very nice town with good individual shops. Dinefwr park (National Trust), Aberglasney gardens nearby and worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Fantastic food and service! Good value and great atmosphere! Didn't stay in the hotel just popped in for our evening meal. The only problem is it is 97 miles from home :-) ***** meal. Relaxed atmosphere despite being very busy when we visited.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

the chapel is a beautiful place to have a civil wedding from where the guests can follow the newly weds down ye olde worlde alley straight to the champagne and gorgeous hot canapes. The welcome, the cosy atmosphere, the meal the staff and the rooms left us feeling like royalty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on friday night (2/11/12) we was greeted at reception by a really friendly member of staff who checked us in and then helped me carry my bags up to my room. We stayed in Egremont, this room was bright and very spacious. The bathroom was stunning (the shower was lovely). The bed linen was crisp and smelt so fresh and the bed was very comfortable.

We took a few drinks in the bar then headed on into dinner, the food was absolutely wonderful and most of it is locally sourced, well all I can say is well done and compliments to the chef and his team. It was all cooked perfectly and all tasted wonderful, we also took breakfast in the morning and once again we was not disappointed with any of the food, and the home baked bread went down a real treat too.

We was there to celebrate a wedding and the food served once again to us at the event was again cooked to perfection. The bar prices were very reasonable too, and the bar itself was nice and there was lovely sofas in the lounge where you could sit chat with friends and it held a lovely atmosphere.

All I can say is this is a lovely hotel, staff very helpful and friendly. Food fantastic, there was a great arrangement of rooms depending on what occassion you was there for. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that ever gets the chance to visit Wales and gets to Llandeilo. We will definately be returning one day.

Room Tip: Just check out the website and take your pick they are all totally different rooms so it just depend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merlandrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been for lunch at the cawders several times for Sunday lunch and also for evening meals it's been very good value and it still is the only problem that now the veg is peas broad beans and lots of baby carrots . When in the past we used to have a good nice veg mix and cauliflower cheese . We will still go there but not so often maybe.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Detona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberporth, Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Llandeilo itself lovely and quiet packed with cosy little boutiques. Chocolate shop a-m-a-z-i-n-g! The hotel is beautifully decorated and has a fantastic choice of wines and champagne. Lovely food all of which is reasonably priced - especially in comparison to Narbeth and Cardiff. We stayed in the 'nonni' which has a wonderful bath and shower and the bed is divine!
Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear in good order, would not expect a problem staying in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichMorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
13.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
18.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Property: The Cawdor
Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing