We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant decor, good service poor food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aagrah

Aagrah
Ranked #64 of 147 Restaurants in Skipton
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant decor, good service poor food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Aagrah looks the part but the food is a big let down, The keema madras had no flavor and just tasted of mince meat. The shami kebab was soggy and the peshwari naan had no coconut and looked like it had been dropped on the carpet it had that many bits on top. Ive had better currys from supermarkets meals for 2. The staff where nice and the decor was very nice thats about it, i wont be going again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DANIEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    103
    45
    37
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Central location overlooking the canal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The location is fabulous, there are 2 choices of dining, a la carte and the buffet. The buffet restaurant is upstairs and pre dinner drinks are served overlooking the canal. Good choices of food to be had.

My party opted for our pre-booked a la carte restaurant. The staff greeted us and quickly showed us to our table. There was a display cabinet offering fresh fish available in addition to the extensive menu. The fish menu was available to choose from as well as the standard one. The food choices were very extensive and tok some time to narrow down our choices. I drank mango lassi whereas the rest of my party drank lager and wine. We all shared a seafood starter plus one other fish masala dish was ample in size for our party of four. For mains, I chose King Prawn Asktar with tandoori roti, the party all chose King Prawn Goan, chicken jalfrezi and fish sizzler. All our main courses arrived together with our side dishes of naan bread and 2 rice side dishes. We were regularly asked if we wanted more drinks and manager came to ask if our meals were ok.

I also bought several different jars of the Aagragh homemade cooking sauces, to be recommended, the recipe book is also a very good buy.

Thoroughly recommend this restaurant, we shall return, book beforehand is preferable to disappointment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaTD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is lovely, beautifully designed and decorated, with a really good atmosphere - it's never quiet so if not going early it's advisable to book.

The food is lovely, really fresh and tasty, although we've only ever had the a la carte menu, not the buffet. There's always fresh fish, which is on display on the way in, and it's a bit of a speciality here.

The service is good, kind and curteous, and prompt. Although most of the Aagrah restaurants are good in this respect, particularly this and the one in York. Not been with children, but can't see why they wouldn't be welcome, and it's such an extensive menu there would be something for them. A little expensive perhaps, when compared to some restaurants, but worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Claire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very slow and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

First may I say that the location of this restaurant is great and from the look of the place you feel that you are in a top quality establishment, however, tonight poor is the best I can rate this. As a local family, we eat out in Skipton quite a lot and have tried every Indian restaurant in Skipton. We have tried the Aagrah a few times and have found it average i.e. food ok and would revisit but certainly not the best, however from our experience tonight, I will not return unless someone else if paying! We had to wait in excess of 45 mins to have our order taken and were not alone, whereas we waited without asking, another party who had arrived before us had to get up to attract attention, as did the table next to us. I could understand had the place been teaming with Customers but trade was steady without being manic. Given that we arrived before 7.00pm with two children and left over 2.5 hours later, you can see that service was slow - I like a leasurely meal but this was ridiculous. In addition, when the bill was requested, it took ages to arrive and then the gentlemen hovered for my payment which made me uncomfortable and unable to check the bill properly. Poppadoms, 1 starter, 3 curries, 2 ice-creams, 1 bottle of water, 2 soft drinks, 1 coffee and 3 small glasses of wine came to over £75 which frankly for what we received is ridiculous, however as the waiter was hovering, I felt intimidated so paid with only a brief comment to the waiter as to the price. There are other Indian Restaurants in the area who may not have the location or decor but win hands down in terms of food and customer service. One very disappointed Skipton resident!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshireborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of India in Skipton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have visited this restaurant on many occasions, both as a 'sit-in' and 'carry out' customer and have yet to find anything to fault. The menu is as varied as any you will find in the Capital, yet reasonably costed. The staff are very pleasant and courteous, always keen to explain the dishes, prompt to take your order, and careful to ensure your every whim is catered for. A perfect eatery for even the wary Indian eater.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gregbear1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aagrah also viewed

 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Aagrah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing