We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very nice break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife & I have just had 3 lovely nights here. We had a nice sized room in the older part of the hotel on the inside of the building over looking the courtyard so it was nice & quiet at night. The beds were lovely & comfy, the bath was a good size & there was lots of really hot water. We only had one evening meal in the hotel as there are such a lot of good places to eat in Skipton but the meal we had, which was on my wife's birthday.was excellent. The hotel's location is really good as you can either walk along the towpath at the back of the building or along the main road at the front & be in the town centre in 5 to 10 minutes. Also the railway station is straight across the road from the front door so you are handy for a trip on the Settle to Carlisle train. All of the staff were very friendly & helpful. Before we left we asked the receptionist if we could have a look at a room on the canal side of the hotel & he gave us keys for 2 rooms which were vacant & when we saw them we decided that when we go back there, which we definitely will do, we will have a room on that side as they are even better than the one we had. The only criticism we could make is the price of the breakfast, but Morrisons is just along the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    240
    74
    36
    20
See reviews for
79
421
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night en route elsewhere but will definitely be back for a longer stay. The staff were lovely & sorted out an electrical problem swiftly & efficiently. Lovely chefs biscuits on arrival. The room was tastefully decorated with a huge shower & plentiful hot water. The bed was comfortable. Happy hour cocktails nice too ....

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daleswalker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Lovely hotel, very reasonable price, tastefully decorated room with careful attention to details as to what you might need. Pleasant, sincere, attentive staff. Dining, bar and lounge areas comfortable and relaxing. Tasty, imaginative, well presented food combinations. Great breakfast. We were going to a concert at The Mart Theatre on the Saturday night and the helpful young Bulgarian waitress serving dinner arranged for us to have a very early main course and then we came home to a platter of cheeses biscuits, fruit cake etc afterwards, no trouble, no extra price. Lovely! Also a great location overlooking picturesque part of canal, with ducks, swans, birds and of course boats!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking canal with juliette balcony, HUGE bed, nice big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altofts, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

As afternoon teas go this was very ordinary. For what is, after all just tea and a sarnie with a few cakes there was very little flair and the whole experience left us underwhelmed. Service however was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskingseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked to stay at Herriots for my recent birthday and booked bed and breakfast with a discover and dine package added on. This turned out to be very good value for money as the dine option meant choosing anything from the a la carte menu and the discover package was a choice of two things to do from a list nearby the following day. We chose skipton castle and a barge trip along the canal both of which were fine, nothing absolutely astounding but the weather made it and we enjoyed being somewhere different that really is a lovely place. But it was the food that stood out, really lovely well presented huge dishes all round! Proper yorkshire portions and the breakfast nearly finished us off with lots of choice aswell. Only thing was that the restaurant wasn't very busy so there wasn't much atmosphere but that wasn't the hotel's fault and it it was everyone else that was missing out! Would recommend.

Room Tip: Try and ask for one with a balcony they're definitely the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My stay at Herriots exceeded my expectations, especially considering the price.
The room was very pleasent with a fireplace and some flowers placed around to decorate it. Yes, it was a bit womanly but it was like a home comfort rather than the clinical rooms I'm used to. The restaurant was exceptional at both dinner and breakfast.

Everyone was very friendly and I would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayyylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Second stay at the Herriot and to say the welcome back was fantastic,excellent room and great food.a credit to all her riots staff.good parking,easy walking distance into skip ton along the canal..also very cose to rail station and the local bus station.

Room Tip: Try and get room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#2 of 33 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#4 of 33 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Property: Herriots Hotel
Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street.  Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike.  Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing