We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Skipton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

dinksbumf
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week at Thisledo Cottage. A perfect location within 10 min walk of train station and Skipton High Street. Cottage well presented, spotlessly clean, fantastic bathroom (excellent shower). Overall a great base from which to set out to visit the dales.

We were travelling by rail and enjoyed train trips from Embsay to see Bolton Priory & The Strid (a must see); the Settle/Carlisle run over Ribblehead viaduct and a day out in Harrogate.

No downside to the cottage, only slight disappointment was the poor bus links to some popular areas e.g. Malham which would leave no time to explore if you wanted to get back same day! That said a great break and fantastic walking etc. would be very happy to visit again

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Noisy fan in bathroom for those trying to sleep
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2014
Thanks for your great review of the cottage. Local bus services are currently a hot topic in Skipton & the Dales with a local bus company closing down earlier this year. Craven District Council have provided replacement bus services on some routes, but they are far from ideal. Let's hope normal bus service is resumed by the time you next visit the Dales. Once again, many thanks for your review & we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey W
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just back home from a week at this lovely holiday cottage. Well thought out with everything
we needed and more. Within easy walking distance from Skipton town centre. Would
recommend.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: area walking distance to town centre
Liked least: nothing everything was good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and your recommendation to future guests. Come back soon. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neesos
Co. Durham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just the Job!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Have just arrived back home after a very nice week in this cosy cottage. It contains everything you need for a comfortable stay and is obviously well thought out. The addition of the shower is a definite plus. My advice is try it - you won't be dissappointed!

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend the cottage to other people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamepages
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

May 2014 was our second visit to the cottage in six months. We loved it the first time and second time round was even better (new bathroom, new T V and addition of free wifi). Super comfortable and in a terrific situation, quiet and yet only five minutes walk to town, ten to the park. Highly recommended and if you go make sure you don't miss out on eating at Oakleys.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and comfortable, great situation
Liked least: Mattress
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
Thank you for kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the improvements we have made in the last couple of months met with your approval. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne B
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just like being at home”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at this very cosy , comfortable cottage. When we arrived the cottage was very clean and there was everything to hand for your stay. There was two very useful folders to read up on about the local area and shops and places to visit.
Over all the stay was excellent and we would defiantly recommend this cottage to our family and friends. We found Skipton itself to be a very sweet town and we are looking forward to our next stay.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevieboy...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This certainly did DO!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A super little cottage close to the town which would suit 2 people. We saw it was dog friendly and not being dog owners were slightly worried that it could be a bit "doggy"! However it was very clean and perfect for our relaxed walking holiday in the Dales. It was warm and well equipped and we would certainly rent it again if we were holidaying in the area again.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the town
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Cottage cleanliness is very important to us and maintaining those high standards for all guests whether dog owners or not is one of our main priorities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, despite the weather.A full bathroom refurbishment is planned for March 2014 including the installation of a shower.Updated bathroom photos will be put on our website and Holiday Lettings once the refurbishment is completed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.