We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Devonshire Fell Hotel(Burnsall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Burnsall)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dalesgate Hotel(Keighley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
28
19
10
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
19
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat place to staycar parkwell worth a visitdouble roomplenty of choicewarm welcomepubaccommodationcastle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 68 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed overnight at the red lion.The pub was great,good atmosphere and good beer,the parking not good,we had to park in a street 5min walk away because of the market setting up the next day.there is room for 4 cars behind the pub but these are always took up.The staff are quite friendly but the room (room 2) could have been better.The room was dated but clean and quite small and the bathroom was cold as the radiator did not work.The matress was uncomfortable and you could feel the springs. It was noisy till around midnight but we were told about this then quite noisy in the morning with the pub being on a main road from around 6.30am.The breakfast was acceptable with a cooked english,cheap orange out of a carton but the toast and cereal were good.Overall our stay was ok but will not be going back as we thought the room was overpriced at £70 but it was the only one available so we took it.In our opinion this is a 1 to 2 star accomodation.

Room Tip: only 3 bedrooms in the pub,i would imagine all the same standard,go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blainscough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped overnight at the Red Lion in Skipton the room was spacious and well appointed, and warm.
Most of the rooms over look the Main Street and being a market day the day after we booked in we were told it would be noisy from about six thirty in the morning due to the Market setting up, there was a little noise but nothing to disturbing.
The pub downstairs is very pleasant and the staff very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was well cooked and presented well.

There is limited car parking at the pub and I suppose you take your chance we managed to park ok.

A resonable stay of r the tariff paid no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I booked a table for two for a Christmas Lunch. The price was really reasonable so what did we get? Perfect meal, tablecloth, crackers, poppers even a small Christmas tree on the table. Waiter service brilliant will book next year But will visit often during the coming new year
Take my advise and give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Booking a room associated with a pub is always a gamble. Some pay less attention to their accommodation than others. I'm pleased to say that the Red Lion was a lovely discovery. Centraly located in Skipton, it was easy to find. Though there is no parking associated with the pub, there is a large public car park to the rear that only costs a couple quid to stay in overnight. The staff were bright, friendly and very helpful. The landlord was the first to tell me that there would be some street noise in the morning as my room fronted the High Street, so there was no rude suprise when I heard the market setting up the next day.

Though there was a variety of places to eat in the town centre, I chose to dine at the pub and was very glad I did. The food was plentiful, reasonably priced and well prepared. The bar served real ales which also suited me. Breakfast in the morning was equally nice.

The room was clean, bed comfortable and the bathroom large and warm. There were no frills but at the same time, it wasn't stark.

If you're passing through or doing business in Skipton, I'd recommend the Red Lion. The parking and street noise seemed minor issues when I got such a bargain for great location, good food and a comfortable stay

Recommendation: The Russian Tea Rooms on the other side of the High Street. Unique place for afternoon tea, with over 150 varieties.

Room Tip: Prepare for some street noise, but nothing too disturbing.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JammyWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stopped here for a night on our way to the Lakes District. It was cold and wet and we had not booked somewhere to stay in advance. How lucky we were to find this gem. The staff member who showed us our room was very helpful, the room was very walm and welcoming after a long drive, the beds very comfortable and the bath very warm. Just what you need!
Breakfast was brilliant - juice, cereal toast and a huge cooked breakfast.

We would happily recommend this pub to any weary travellers looking for somewhere to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews