We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Treat Hidden in the Dales”

Billy-Bob's Parlour
Ranked #10 of 149 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Otley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Treat Hidden in the Dales”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family have fallen in love with this place for its authenticity in serving Americana. Love the grape soda! The food is excellent quality and everything it should be albeit a tad on the pricey side to add fries to a burger or 'dog as well as a drink.

We don' t have kids so we prefer to enjoy out of peak times. And I sympathise with the management policy on not bringing picnics and drinks from outside, and here's why... The untold truth of the bulk of complainers (and I know, because I've been there when some of these altercations kicked off) is that they turn up with a brood of children in order to give the kids an hour in the complimentary play facilities. And bringing all these kids, they bring snacks and drinks with them 'for the sake of the kids' and expect to occupy one of very few outdoor tables while the kids go play, and think that the purchase of a couple of items at a minimum cost, or the claim 'we eat here regularly - just not today' should entitle them to access.

Two weeks ago I watched one of these militant mothers parade her 'grieving' child and embarrass everyone around her challenging the water rule, and the unwillingness of the management to replace the contraband water with complimentary tapwater from the rrestaurant. 'Big Boss' was not REMOTELY unreasonable. Agitated mother was. And then badgered the staff repeatedly in order to put her complaint in writing to the highest authority.

For the record, in the many times I've now enjoyed delicious meals, drinks and ices there, I've never had anything but courteous, helpful, dedicated staff and a boss who loves his place, and always get tap water without issues.

If you want a diner for reasonable, objective people, come here.

Top tip... Forget Ben & Jerry's. You can buy all Yorkshire Dales' tasty range for £3.50 for a 1 liter tub!

I recommend the Coney Island with Fries and home made Cherry Coke.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThreeSixteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDIC, Manager at Billy-Bob's Parlour, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi ThreeSixteen,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review, and for all the lovely things you’ve said. We feel very chuffed that you’ve fallen in love with us and that you can see how much we all care about our business.

So you’re favourites are the Coney Island, Cherry Coke and the Grape Soda – good choices! If you like the Coney Island we think you’ll love the Texas Chilli Bang Bang burger too.

We also really appreciate you understanding our polices asking people not to bring any of their own food & drink onto site, and only serving free tap water while people are dining with us. In doing so we feel we are much like any other cafe or restaurant, which is what we’re here to be. By charging for refreshments rather than a high parking or entrance fee, it means that for roughly the same price that some other play areas charge just to park or enter, we provide people with both refreshment and access to the play areas, and feel this is what makes us different. Also, this way we also don’t penalise customers who aren’t using the play facilities and are here to visit the parlour, who are just as welcome here.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    357
    138
    73
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great day out!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I have read some other reviews but you have to speak as you find and we found this place a great visit for four adults and a 2 year old. Yes, they do tell you as you drive in that you are not allowed to consume your own food and drink there however the charge was just £1 for my grandson to have as much fun as he wanted and stay as long as we desired.
There is a big play area outside the diner but if you go just around the corner there is a playbarn especially for the under 7's ( over 7's next door) marvellous fun to be had on the huge wooden vehicles and tons of hay with no older children to knock little ones over.
You can choose whether you stay there to eat or drink and spend no more than £1 per child. We however chose to eat there and thoroughly enjoyed our American diner experience. We ate at the table in the playbarn. Just give them your number and they bring the food to wherever you're sitting.
It's not chips with everything, I had a huge Caesar salad. My grandson enjoyed mini hotdog with real sausage and corn on the cob. Yum!! Prices are no more expensive than anywhere else.
Staff in the diner and cleaners of tables were all courteous and friendly. Toilets clean and bright. Did not experience any officious behaviour. A definite for next time. X

    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank lynng789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDIC, Manager at Billy-Bob's Parlour, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi Lynng789!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your visit, we’re really pleased that you and your family enjoyed the food and play areas so much, we're really proud of them so it makes us all feel very happy to hear that you had a great day!

As you say we’re doing all we can to spread the word about people bringing their own food and drink onto site to avoid any misunderstandings - as you saw when you came we ask people to buy any form of refreshment that they need while they're here from us, just like any other restaurant or cafe. This way, for roughly the same price that some other play areas charge for parking or entrance, we provide people with both refreshment and access to fun play areas, and we’re glad that you felt you received value for money - that’s what we’re hoping for :-)

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were told about this attraction when we popped into the Tourist Information Centre in Skipton otherwise we would have drive right past it! Visited with my daughter and her 2 twin 5 year olds and we just loved it. The choice of ice cream flavours was overwhelming for the boys. Once decided we headed outside to the picnic tables (plenty of them) and the boys played on a great outdoor play area. Couldn't get them off it when it was time to go. Came again the next day with my mum and sister and had waffles, pulled pork, hot dogs lemonade floats, mile shake (yum) and, of course, finished off with the inevitable ice cream. Again couldn't get the boys off the play area. Although we didn't use them there are diggers and tractors to play on at an extra cost. Will definitely be going back aagain

Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDIC, Manager at Billy-Bob's Parlour, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi Sue O,

Thanks so much for your review - we’re really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit so much! We’re really proud of our menu and our ice-cream made here at the farm, so it puts a smile on our faces to hear about our customers enjoying it too :-)

We look forward to seeing you all again soon - do come and have a play in the play barn too next time, there’s one for under 7’s and one for over 7’s, and it’s just £1 per child to play - it sounds like the kids will love the ride-on tractors, they’re great fun! Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“PETTY RULES & RUDE STAFF”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends to take 6 kids out for a few hours. On arriving we noticed all the signs said you couldnt eat your own food and drink here which was a shame as we had bought a packed lunch and it was dinnertime. Whilst deciding what to do some of us bought drinks and an ice cream. A man dressed like an MI5 agent with his walkie talkie starts telling the table next to us she cant even drink a bottle of her own water. We decided as theu were so strict and the children were starving (ages 1yrs - 9yrs) they needed something now. We walked away from the farm and to the back of the carpark and sat in the field behind to feed them. Next minute the wannabe MI5 agent appears telling us to pack up and leave. We pointed out the signs were over by the cafe and play area not right over here. He was saying if he let customers eat their own food they wouldnt have a business and they provide the outside play area for free.I explained they were young children and just needed a sandwich, plus they hadnt used his play area yet and we had already bought ice creams and drinks and once the children had eaten we would buy them one too. He was just really rude about it. We didnt go intentionally to eat packed lunch when its not permitted, we honestly didnt know. But if we'd known we wouldnt have fed the kids there anyway. Food is over priced there and would cost a fortune for 9 people. We could have blatantly eaten it there but again we didnt and did the decent thing and moved to where nobody could see us. Looking at other reviews I can see he treats other people the same and doesn't seem to care he loses custom. The owner himself and his 'drink security' need to do a customer service course. Poor kids ended up suffering, they get excited to go there and treated to an ice cream and they miss out, didnt even get to go in the play area or taste an ice cream.

    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank Kayleigh3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDIC, Owner at Billy-Bob's Parlour, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Kayleigh,

We’re really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit, and would like to just explain a bit about the way the site works to shed a little light on your experience.

As you say we have signs up to ask people not to consume any of their own food and drink anywhere on the site - the reason for this is that our business is to be a Parlour & Diner, with the added bonus of lots of lovely play equipment for our customers, and as such our policies are much like any other restaurant or cafe, i.e. we ask that people buy any food and drink they need while visiting from us. In order for us to make a living as well as offer lovely play equipment for our diners we obviously need to charge in some way for the facilities, so rather than charge a high parking or entrance fee as many others do, we chose to ask people buy any form of refreshment while they're here from us rather than bringing their own. Charging in the way we do means that for roughly the same price that some other play areas charge for parking or entrance, we provide people with both refreshment and access to the play areas, and feel this is what makes us different.

Obviously being different means that there are sometimes misunderstandings and a quick check at our website prior to visiting would have clarified that we are not a place for picnics. We're currently looking into how we can further spread the word about how the parlour/diner works, so that people know in advance and can choose whether or not they're happy with it before they come, so we are creating some new signs and also trialling having a member of staff by the entrance welcoming people, explaining how everything works and answering any questions.

We’re really disappointed that you scored us 2/5 for our food and value when you didn’t eat with us, as we pride ourselves on offering quality food for a reasonable price - our food is made fresh with care on the premises, from local produce where possible, and as an example our burgers start from £4.95 and lunch from the children’s menu starts from £3.50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“ARROGANT STAFF & PETTY RULES”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends to take 6 kids out for a few hours. On arriving we noticed all the signs said you couldnt eat your own food and drink here which was a shame as we had bought a packed lunch and it was dinnertime. Whilst deciding what to do some of us bought drinks and an ice cream. A man dressed like an MI5 agent with his walkie talkie starts telling the table next to us she cant even drink a bottle of her own water. We decided as theu were so strict and the children were starving (ages 1yrs - 9yrs) they needed something now. We walked away from the farm and to the back of the carpark and sat in the field behind to feed them. Next minute the wannabe MI5 agent appears telling us to pack up and leave. We pointed out the signs were over by the cafe and play area not right over here. He was saying if he let customers eat their own food they wouldnt have a business and they provide the outside play area for free.I explained they were young children and just needed a sandwich, plus they hadnt used his play area yet and we had already bought ice creams and drinks and once the children had eaten we would buy them one too. He was just really rude about it. We didnt go intentionally to eat packed lunch when its not permitted, we honestly didnt know. But if we'd known we wouldnt have fed the kids there anyway. Food is over priced there and would cost a fortune for 9 people. We could have blatantly eaten it there but again we didnt and did the decent thing and moved to where nobody could see us. Looking at other reviews I can see he treats other people the same and doesn't seem to care he loses custom. The owner himself and his 'drink security' need to do a customer service course.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayleigh3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDIC, Owner at Billy-Bob's Parlour, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Kayleigh,

Your posting is a review of a restaurant in the TripAdvisor restaurant listings, but ironically and disappointingly you didn’t give us the opportunity to offer you any hospitality or to serve you any of our wonderful food!

We’re sorry to hear that that when you arrived you were surprised to find that we don't allow picnics here, a quick check of our website prior to setting off to us would have clarified this for you.

Sadly though, despite having seen our very clear signage, you and your party chose to consume your own food here at our diner / restaurant, we simply cannot allow our facilities to be abused in such a manner, we believe such behaviour is simply bad manners.

We’re really disappointed that you also scored us poorly for our food and value when you didn’t eat with us, as we pride ourselves on offering quality food for a reasonable price - our food is made fresh with care on the premises, from local produce where possible, and as an example our burgers start from £4.95 and lunch from the children’s menu starts from £3.50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy-Bob's Parlour also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Billy-Bob's Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing