We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff,great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Napier's

Napier's
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Napier's
Ranked #14 of 33 Skipton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent staff,great hotel”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at napiers for a anniversary weekend on out arrival we were met by the owner Ian who was very polite carried our bags to our lovely room.we ate in the restaurant both nights the food was fantastic the staff were friendly and helpful I would recommend napiers to anyone visiting skipton we will be back that is for sure thanks to Ian and Jules

Will and vikki

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willmanc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    24
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
12
55
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We've just returned from a one night (very) short break in Skipton and stayed in The Coach House. Because we were restricted to an overnight stay, we decided to push the boat out and booked the suite (no.7) which was situated on the top floor of this amazing building. We 'checked in' at Napier's and were taken across the road by Ian, the very convivial and knowledgable owner of both premises. As we climbed to our accommodation, he pointed out the interesting elements of the architecture, their historical context and the fascinating 'gems' they had discovered during the renovation process. This man has an absolute passion for the place and for that he has to be admired, because what he's doing is conserving and upgrading with real style! We arrived at our suite, with it's very impressive (and comfy) bed, it's free standing bath and very attractive décor. The separate bathroom with modern, tasteful fittings and huge double shower was in keeping with the rest of the accommodation; sympathetically yet stylishly appointed. The overall effect is very chic yet slightly quirky, which really appealed to us. Like a previous reviewer, I would also recommend that toiletries could be sourced that reflect accommodation of this quality. It's a minor point but worth considering. We had breakfast at Napier's this morning and very good it was too. Our overall view... we loved it! We'll be back and next time, for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trumpeteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just come back from a two night stay. We were made to feel VERY welcome when we arrived and all the way through our trip nothing was too much trouble to the staff.
The room was nicely furnished and decorated, the jacuzzi bath was very relaxing.
Breakfast was DELICIOUS with home cured bacon and home made sausages too, we also ate on the first night in the restaurant which was very nice, we had venision stew and steak pie with suet pastry.
Just a minutes walk into Skipton with the market on Friday and Saturday, which made life very relaxing during our stay.
Overall 10/10 and we hope to return soon!

Room Tip: If all rooms are like the room we stayed in you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lechar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked last minute for the Coach House rooms across the road from Napiers and we were very happy with it, the rooms are modern, well equipped and well decorated with lovely furnishings and very comfy bed! The owners are very friendly and helpful and made us extremely welcome, the breakfast was all good quality and well cooked.

The hotel is a stone's throw from the centre and I would highly recommend it for a romantic break.

The only complaint we had was the room was a little cold but I do like it tropical !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golcarilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in the newly renovated Coach House, which is across the road from Napiers (reception & breakfast). Rooms are light,airy, spacious and well decorated - modern but sympathetic to old building style. Still a bit more work to do on ground floor but did not disturb us.

Bathrooms are v modern with high spec fixtures - like a spa - suggest the toiltries are changed from 'high street' brands to more premium brands to compliment the surrounds and the more premium rate you pay to stay here.
We stayed in Room 1 which had nice view over church and pa of castle, and I think one of the bigger rooms. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have stayed !!

Home cooked breakfasts (inc veggie options) were delicious and fresh. Other tasty cereal, fruit and yoghurts options were available, all laid out to help yourself. This reflects the very welcoming and laid back nature of the hosts - they are keen to tell / show you about the history of the old building.

This is probably one of the most expensive places to stay in Skipton but worth it to get such a conveneience, beautiful and relaxing spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggeryboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we stayed at napiers over the bank holiday for two nights. We had the room above the restaurant, our room overlooked the front of the property, the bedroom was very large as was the bathroom which came both with bath and shower.the room was kept in a clean well appointed condition, with television tea coffee making,we found it to be a relaxing place to stay. it sits in an excellent location as it is only a short walk into skipton. would we stay here again yes.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kingfishernottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We did a 2 night stay at Napiers as part of a wedding we had over August bank holiday weekend. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. We booked a double room, which was very small. The bathroom, even smaller, was difficult to use and the shower was frustratingly feeble. Getting ready for the wedding itself was awkward, the only mirror in the room was in the bathroom, which was steamed up the whole time I needed it and obviously couldn't be used to blow dry my hair. The breakfast was nice and staff were very accommodating. Overall though, I would not stay here again purely because I can stay in a boutique B&B in a city centre for about the same price.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
762 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#2 of 33 in Skipton
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Coach House Skipton
The Coach House Skipton
#27 of 33 in Skipton
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pinfold
The Pinfold
#11 of 33 in Skipton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napier's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napier's

Property: Napier's
Address: Chapel Hill, Skipton BD23 1NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napier's 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Napier's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napier's Skipton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing