We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beers”
Review of The Narrow Boat

The Narrow Boat
Ranked #16 of 152 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great beers”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Havnt eaten her but the menu looks good and varied with good veggie choice.
Have been in a couple of times while moored in Skipton and its a great pub, no TV, no rubbish music, lots of great beers changing on a regular basis.

Good pub well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    105
    17
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great drinks selection ”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a proper pub, no frills, always packed as it is good at what it does... Has no time for insignificant chatter... It's a taste of the no nonsense Yorkshire approach! Brilliant !!!

Helpful?
Thank 65degree-angle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best pub in skipton!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

What can I say about our favourite local pub? Well it's our favourite local pub for a start! No chavs, no thumping music or sports channels, excellent food (the posh fishfinger butty is awesome), the best kept beer with the best variety. Finally the best staff too, Spike, Tim, Tanya and the whole gang are brilliant and in my experience are nothing but helpful, polite and knowledgeable about their products. Perhaps the negative reviews left here by others are used to poorly kept beer, microwave food and loud chavvy atmospheres? If that's the case and they don't come back then great, it's a busy pub anyway and it'll make room for customers who appreciate a real pub!

Helpful?
1 Thank sparklechops77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just rude”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Place smells, service is slow, selection of drinks is poor, prices are steep and the manager (working at the brief time I was there) was just plan rude to our group.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank rg98420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not that impressed”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went to the Narrow Boat having been recommended to visit. We would have had lunch but they were not serving food unfortunately. There was nobody in the bar and only 2 somewhat strange looking characters outside.
We had 1 drink each and left. I can only assume we did not visit the Narrow Boat at its best.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Narrow Boat also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Narrow Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing