We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of The Craven Heifer Inn - CLOSED

The Craven Heifer Inn
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Craven Heifer pub, a familiar sight in its elevated position at the top of Tarn Moor, is a popular stopping-off place, not only for walkers and cyclists visiting the Dales, but perhaps especially for Skipton locals, who come up for the famous Sunday Lunch. The pub used to be a farmhouse and associated complex, and still retains many of the original character and features, like the “barn door” entrance. Serving some of the best food in the Dales The Craven Heifer has a fantastic reputation locally. Boasting some of the finest Local Ales and Homemade Pork Pies its the ideal place to stop off after a walk in the beautiful countryside.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have visited the Craven Heifer a number of times and have always found the food excellent and the staff very friendly. We visited yesterday for lunch and once again had a very enjoyable meal chosen from the main menu and the special board. The Craven Heifer meals are very generous and my advice is to go with an empty stomach!!! It will not be long before we visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 285 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We visited on at around 5.00 p.m. 12 October on our way home from a day out in the Dales. We were welcomed on arrival and able to sit by a lovely log fire. We ate delicious chicken with pepper sauce which was accompanied by a varied selection of vegetables and really good chips. There was really no need to have a pudding but we shared an excellent sticky toffee pudding and followed with coffee. No complaint about the price of the excellent coffee as it was served with a chocolate and a biscuit and refils are available at no extra cost. There aren't many places where you can eat freshly cooked food at this time of day but obviously we aren't the only people who know this as there were other diners happily tucking into their meals. Polite and efficient staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shebelongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

When we arrived we were greeted by very welcoming members of staff that showed us through to our table in the extremely busy dinning room. We didn't fancy the carvery so ordered from the main menu. We thought that there would be a wait on food but 20 mins later our food was served by very friendly staff. Even though it was obvious they were all rushed off there feet they still had time for a quick chat. The food was superb I shall defiantly be recommending to others. The whole experience start to finish was excellent and a credit to the landlord and landlady. Will certainly be returning.

Thank Chuckles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johndSkipton, Owner at The Craven Heifer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words that I will pass on to all our staff.

Regards


John & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great place to stay, just outside of skipton so after being out and about in the dales and then visiting skipton it was nice to not be in town whilst only being 3-4 minuites drive away. the room we had was on the ground floor at the rear near the kitchen's but not a problem as serving is only up to 9 ish'. by the time you have enjoyed some tasty food and real ale in the place it all wind's down just as you are. very nice staff and good service all round,nothing is a problem. It truly is the gateway to the yorkshire dales. 2 day's were not enough but a great taster of the area and will be returning asap may be before xmas hopefully with no kids again but looking around for a family hol next summer, if we get a summer? The food i thought was good vlalue for money and ticked all the boxes, i can be a bit funny about that, so i think that say's alot. enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johndSkipton, Owner at The Craven Heifer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We try and stay long weekends at least 2 or 3 times a year (cannot remember over how many years, have lost count) would visit more but work and other commitments get in our way, roll on retirement! We have never been disappointed with the service from the friendly staff and professional management.

The food is so delicious, I do like to eat different delicacies from the menu which have always been yummy. My husband though is so addicted to the Heifer Pie, which he enjoys at every sitting, I really hope they don't take it off the menu, he would be devistated!

Just recently visited and stayed for my husbands birthday, what an enjoyable time we had, so relaxing and we completely switch off and slept so well.

Will be visiting again in early 2013.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scoobysue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johndSkipton, Owner at The Craven Heifer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

The Heifer Pie has always been a afvourite on the menu. We are glad you enjoyed it and no doubt we will see you again soon.

Kind regards


John, Angela and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Craven Heifer Inn also viewed

 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing