We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Quiet and Restful Family Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skipton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonelands Farmyard Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sedgefield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Quiet and Restful Family Weekend”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My Wife,Daughter,Son in Law,3 Grandaughters and myself have just returned from a very good weekend.The brochure offeres 'A Haven of Peace and Tranquility'and that is exactly what you get.We have been to the cottages 3 times now and the standard of cleanliness is still very hgh.The facilities and equipment for cooking are first class and apart from food, all you need to take are the condiments.Over the weekend we all spent a great deal of time in the Swimming Pool(within 5 mins of arriving the girls were in the pool) which is very warm.The area is ideal for walking and if you want to visit a'real' pub with good food and ale .(they have their own Micro-Brewery) the Queens Arms is 10 mins walk away. Finally,if you are unable to manage a weekend without a mobile you will have to manage with the Payphone in Reception.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have seen are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnSedgefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markandruth1, Manager at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Stonelands. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, comments such as yours are always lovely to receive.
You may be interested to know that we are planning to install Wi-fi within the next month and for the benefit of our guests are also looking in to how we can offer increased mobile reception.
Thank you so much again for your kind words and we very much hope we will see you again in the near future.
Best wishes

Ruth Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have been coming to this property for the last 14 years, yes 14 years and have never been disappointed in it.
The Cowan family who who own it are very nice and welcoming, professional and friendly.
We have stayed in Tansy the most as we go with friends but we have stayed in Sandhams when it is just the two of us.
The rooms are a very good standard and very clean.
We sleep very well when we are here, it is so relaxing.
The pool and sauna are nice after the walks around the beautiful area
We never want to leave and wish we could stay for ever.
There is nothing about this place we can find fault with.
It is so quite and peaceful, it is like coming home to us now
We are so glad we found it and will be going for a lot more years to come

Room Tip: Dogs are only allowed in some cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DansMumCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markandruth1, Owner at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Firstly please let us apologise for the delay in responding to your lovely review. We are so sorry for not replying sooner.
Thank you so much for all your kind comments, we are really delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your visit to the dales and to Stonelands (of course!) We very much hope to see you again in the future and send our best wishes to you all.

Many thanks

Mark & Ruth Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed at Stonelands from Mon - Fri. It was absolutely amazing! We stayed in Honeypot as it was a bit chilly and a previous reviewer had mentioned that the room was quite warm. Both of us love being warm so we decided on Honeypot. The place definitely did not disappoint!

The cottage was very clean and tidy and more spacious than we initially imagined. The little touches we're great too. We'd forgotten our mocha pot, and were delighted when we found a caffe tierre in the room.

The pool and sauna were great! We spent every evening there soothing our aching muscles from our walks.

The pub down the road is great too. Friendly people and tasty food!

We cannot wait for our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynisleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markandruth1, Owner at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Firstly please accept our sincere apologies for the delay in responding to your kind review and secondly thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments for us of Stonelands. It is always so nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit to the dales and (of course!) to Stonelands.
As you mentioned the warmth in Honey Pot, can I now just let yourselves (and anyone else who may be considering a stay with us) know that in an attempt to help with the heat issue, we have placed a fan in that property and have also altered the windows which we hope may better allow any breezes/ air to criculate round the rooms.
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours
Mark and Ruth Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 and it is a fantastic place but, we stayed in the Honeypot which is above the swimming pool. And here lies the problem, it is like a sauna in the room. It was 16 degrees outside and sweat was pouring of me, my partner and our 10 month old. We couldn't go outside as it was too chilly for the little man and it was way too hot indoors. We had the windows open full and they were steaming up on the inside! Poor little guy couldn't sleep at night, and I couldn't either. We had one very small fan which just wasn't enough, if you went in the swimming pool area you would know what I mean. I hate to be negative as it was a lovely place, great setting and some of the nicest people I have ever met, but we just dreaded going to our "room".

Room Tip: Don't pick the Honeypot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotfrog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth C, Manager at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review although we are disappointed to hear that you encountered some problems regarding the heating in Honey Pot. A couple of other guests have also informed us that they too, found this property to be very warm and as our guests comfort and enjoyment of their holiday is a top priority of ours here at Stonelands we are now looking into possible solutions to remedy this problem.
We are also concerned to read from your rating, that there was possibly an issue regarding cleanliness. We take great pride in the presentation of our properties and would like to assure you that had we been informed of any problems that we would have immediately done our utmost to rectify any area of concern.
We very much hope that you will give us another chance and that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Myself and my husband stayed here for a week in September. The cottage was excellent. Very well equipped (Spion Cop) and when we had a little problem with the oven (our fault as we were not used to it) the situation could not have been sorted more efficiently. The swimming pool is lovely and well maintained.

The local inn is only ten minutes walk and serves fantastic food. The staff are really friendly and are a source of local information not found in any guide book. The ale served here is so local it is made there and the pale ale is fantastic!

The Cohen family are really nice. We met Mr Cohen Senior and he epitomises the whole character of the place. Its warm, friendly and feels like a home from home.

Oh and there is a little thing I missed, it is set in some of the most beautiful countryside in the UK.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkeye0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We (11 adults) have just returned fron a 5 day break over the New Year period, and have all had a fantastic time.
We stayed in the largest cottage across the road but there are smaller cottages around the old farm yard.
The house sleeps 12+ in 6 bedrooms, all with their own bathrooms.The rooms are spacious and have comfortable beds. Even though there was 5 inches of snow we where never cold and there was a constant supply of hot water.
2 lounges mean you are not on top of each other, and can have a quiet lounge and a noisey one, both have TV, video and DVD players, and TVs in most of the bedrooms. Video library available (free).
The kitchen is well equiped with pots, pans, cockery etc. 2 dishwashers and an American style fridge freezer, which is very useful given the nearest shop is 9 miles away in Grassington.
1 km up the road is a quaint pub which serves excelent food and brews it's own beers, well worth a visit or two.
If you are looking for peace and quiet then this is for you. Mobile phones dont work in the area, GREAT! you control when you can be contacted ( there is a pay phone on site).
The free swimming pool is open from 9am - 9pm and the sauna 4pm -9pm, this along with everything at Stonelands is kept spotless and well maintained.
The childrens play area looked good but given our ages and the fact we had loads of snow, I can't say we have any personal experience of it. I would say this place is great for adults and children, lots to do and see in the area.
Great walking country with well marked paths around the area or stunning views just to sit and look at. Beautiful county, which from a Lancastrian is praise indeed !!!!
We WILL be going back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dulverton, Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We just got back from a Monday to Friday break in the Dales and I really struggled to find anywhere that could accomodate 7 family members,, including two kids, at half term and I stumbled on Stonelands. I will never stay anywhere else in the Dales.
Litton Dale is beautiful. It feels peaceful and at the heart of the Dales.
There is a recently taken over pub at Litton about 1km stroll down a extremely quiet coutry lane.
Grassington is a steady 20min drive away. Malham about the same a stunning drive.
Stonelands has a pool which is big enough to have fun in. We had it to ourselves as did other familys staying the same week. The pool is warm!! There is also a sauna. Guests are free to use the facility between 9am and 9pm.
We have two dogs and our hosts were completely relaxed about it and invited us to use the fields to exercise them.
The accomodation is spacious, clean and comfortable.
The owners of Stonelands could not have been more friendly, helpful and accomodating.
They run their buisness extremely well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herobirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
15.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,101 reviews
14.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
762 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
381 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonelands Farmyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonelands Farmyard Cottages

Property: Stonelands Farmyard Cottages
Address: Stonelands Farmyard Cottages | Litton, Skipton BD23 5QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Skipton
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Stonelands Farmyard Cottages Skipton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing