We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place noisy during the night”
Review of The Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Town House
Ranked #22 of 32 Skipton B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place noisy during the night”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Overall enjoyed my stay. My room was very nice bathroom was nice and the facility's in the room where great to. But I was woken up several time during the night by people shouting outside and you can hear people in other rooms to. In the morning the breakfast was ok basic and ok

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our facilities. We alsways do out utmost to ensure satisfaction. If there was external noise which is unusual, all we can do is try to investigate where it might have come from and if there is anything which might be done to prevent guests from being disturbed in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    28
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
43
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We booked this hotel at random, seemingly Skipton was full on the Friday night we wanted! The place was lovely! Extremely clean, bathroom beautiful and the hosts were the very best. Breakfast was fabulous the next morning, there is nothing I could fault! Highly recommended. I agree with the review that says the location doesn't do it justice, although it is in the centre of Skipton, which is exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
We're really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

As a solo traveller on my first outing alone I was slightly apprehensive about going away, However, from the moment i arrived I was greeted warmly. the room was spacious and very clean as was the en suite. breakfast was great. Mick is a very good cook and host
Houng Vu was extremely kind to me. Above and beyond the call of duty
The kitchen was available 24 hours which is great if you like a midnight snack. there was a huge selection of DVd's available for a very small refundable deposit. free wifi and sky tv. Mick even drove me back to the train station when i was leaving. All in all I cannot fault the Town House and would certainly recommend it whether it is for a family visit, couples or solo travellers. i would not hesitate to book again as it was great value for the money.

regards to Houng Vu and Mick

Teri

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11babybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
It's good to note that the review on here cover different aspects of the service we provide and that the cleanliness is appreciated, thank you for the nice comments. We will hopefully continue to maintain and perhaps improve standards as we learn more about what our guests like, expect and want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriauk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My daughter and I were taking a short break together and we picked the Town House almost at random. We just wanted something clean and inexpensive as a base while we did a bit of walking and a lot of talking. We struck very lucky . The Town House is very ,very clean and newly decorated. It is kind of basic in that it's a guest house rather than an hotel but it's very , very comfortable. The owners are on site and are very helpful and obliging , It's in a brilliant if not scenic location right in the centre of the town but the rooms are very quiet - no traffic or pub emptying noise, and there is on site parking. The breakfasts were generous and well cooked. We paid £40 per person per night for single occupancy in comfortable double rooms which was amazingly good value.

Room Tip: If you phone the town house you'll talk to one of the owners. Tell them what you need and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dweenCumbriauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

very good service, room very clean and tidy, breakfast excellent. Location doesn't do it justice to the hotel.

I had walked along the Leeds to Liverpool canal from Leeds and this Hotel was adequate for my needs, a nice long soak in a hot bath!

Very friendly greeting on arrival, i will use this hotel again if i am in Skipton

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidtodd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Overnight stop enroute to Scotland on motorbike. Owners offered their garage to tuck bike away. Central and within 2min walk of restaurants pubs and ammenities. Accommodation very clean having been recently refurbished. Was made to feel very welcome upon arrival.... Excellent breakfast and very good hosts. Recommend and will return when next in area.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fro5tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickering north yorks england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

wanted somewhere central with parking town house ticked all the boxes , clean, slept like a log, right in the heart of town but very quiet,if your wanting oak beams and horse brasses dont stay here if your wanting value for money b and b you wont find better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wardy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skipton hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,151 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#5 of 32 in Skipton
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#16 of 32 in Skipton
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 32 in Skipton
641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Property: The Town House
Address: Birtwhistle's Yard | Devonshire Place, Skipton BD23 2LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property has recently been re-furbished and offers bright, clean airy accommodation at a good level of quality for an affordable price. We have tried to include everything the discerning business user, day-tripper or holiday-maker might like and expect in a modern B & B. All rooms are en-suite and feature the following; TV, Sky with all channels including Sports, Movies and HD, DVD player, free movie hire (subject to a refundable deposit), FREE Wi-Fi, a welcome tray with tea and coffee facilities, additional seating, hair dryer, complimentary shampoos and shower gels. Iron and ironing board are available on request. For the hikers amongst you we have packs of walk guide cards available for free hire (subject to a refundable deposit.) We now have two family rooms for up to 4 people (1 x double and 2 x single) and up to 3 people (1 x double and 1 x single) respectively. Outside there is a free, private car park to the rear. We are 60 yards from the bus station, 60 yards from the main high street and less than half a mile form the train station. All in all you get everything you need in a friendly relaxed atmosphere and a prime location for a great price. Why not come along and find out why so many people are returning to see us time and time again? We hope you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Skipton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing