We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Atmosphere!”

The Woolly Sheep Inn
Ranked #16 of 154 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Woolly Sheep is a traditional dining pub in the centre of Skipton, serving good quality freshly prepared food and great Timothy Taylors beers. We pride ourselves on the our service, atmosphere and produce, to ensure we always leave you wanting more.
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Go to the Woolly Sheep for a warm welcome. The staff are really helpful and make everyone feel part of the Skipton community. The choice of beers and ciders is second to none. Lovely living fires make it even more special.Great food menu!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristineDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Goodall, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    240
    72
    44
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Thanks for the recommendations”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've been to Skipton a number of times, but for the first time actually used the Trip Advisor app to guide us.

This was a good as the reviews said and the staff were so patient and helpful.

P.S. I'm not a smoker, but the smoking area was the most inviting that I've ever seen!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnH456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Goodall, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am glad to hear that the wonderful comments that we get from Tripadvisor guided you to us.

I hope that it will not be long before you return. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Went on sat the 12th jan, lovely inviting place. Checked in about 2 o,clock then sampled a pint of landlord that was in good nick. The rooms were lovely and were decorated tastefully. The place is very decieving from from the front, it has a nice snug then the bar in the middle and restaurant at the back. We had evening meal which was very good. I had lamb shank which fell off the bone, the breakfast in the morning was very tasty. Going to go back in the summer to check out the beer garden at the back.
If your going in jan or feb go on tim taylors website and print the voucher off, it gives you 20% off the food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicooflevantebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Goodall, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our fave pub in Skipton. Food is lovely and my partner loves the Timothy Taylor ales. Had a fab lunch here this week, don't think we've ever been disappointed with the food. I asked about their Valentines menu which they hadn't got ready yet but the lovely waitress came back to get my email address so she can email the details when theyve been confirmed. I thought that was a nice touch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HayleyP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great menu, varied choice for all tastes. fantastic food with great presentation. Very attentive staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tcb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woolly Sheep Inn also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Woolly Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing