We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Woolly Sheep Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Burnsall)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dalesgate Hotel(Keighley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveler rating
420
186
63
32
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
420
186
63
32
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfront bartimothy taylorsbeer gardensecure car parkate herespecials boardsteakfull rangehot chocolatelovely atmospheresunday roastfish and chipsopen firebiscuitsblack puddingbooked a table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 717 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I arranged to meet my partner in the woolly sheep, as we love landlord ale and like the atmosphere of the pub. I arrived to find my partner sat down at a table and asked if he had a drink, he told me he was at the bar for about five minutes and was totally blanked so he sat down. I sat down with him awaiting whether we stayed or went, no one noticed by entering or that my partner had been sat down for l0 minutes without a drink or acknowledgement. what a pity about the service, as we have always liked this place. I think tim taylors management need to get the right staff in place, before this lovely pub goes down.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank catherineaudsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

I am sorry that you experienced problems on your last visit, allow me to apologise. We have a large sign in the restaurant that asks diners to wait to be seated by a member of staff, and unfortunately if your partner seated himself, then our staff may have thought he was being looked after by another waitress and this may have resulted in the confusion. Equally our bar is quite small and at busy times it may take a little longer to get served. I can guarantee that none of our staff would ever blank a customer, but on this occasion there has clearly been some confusion and I can only apologise. As you say you and our partner have visited the woolly sheep many times before, you will know how great our service usually is, and we hope that you will put your previous visit down as a one off, and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wonderful place. Could only stay one night as it was fully booked. Lovely room, very clean. Breakfast was really good. Roaring log fire in the pub was much appreciated as was the excellent beer. Staff very pleasant and helpful. This place is doing everything right. Will be going back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigralady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your great review, I'm glad that you really enjoyed every aspect of your stay :) judging by how busy we always seem to be, we like to think that we're doing something right too! Our huge log fire is very popular through winter. Sorry that you couldn't book for longer last time, we hope that you get the chance to return and spend more time with us next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked a table for Sunday lunch to meet up with some family, everyone was really pleased with the find. The pub looks small from the Main Street but is much bigger than it looks once inside. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient. A wide variety of choices on the menu and all 7 of us were impressed with our food. We will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Tables can be booked online and definitely worth doing to avoid disappointment
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELRI49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm very glad that you booked as Sundays can get very busy indeed, and thank you for recommending that others book in advance too, we hate having to turn people away! The Woolly Sheep is a bit of a tardis, and it's great seeing people's surprise when they walk in from the street. I'm glad that you and your family had a lovely meal and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, room was clean comfortable & with plenty of space although we were not in it much, had a meal in the restaurant which was really nice, breakfast was good to with a choice of cooked items, the only criticism we have is that the tea at breakfast was not hot enough, we asked for a pot of hot water but it wasn't any hotter, the staff were friendly & helpful & we would stay again, lovely place.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FergieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, it's great that you enjoyed your stay so much. Allow me to apologise for the tea issues! It turns out that we had a problem with our coffee machine that provides us with the hot water for teas etc, but we have since had this fixed and all is well. We hope that you will return again and enjoy your experience just as much, this time with a nice hot cuppa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Has a meal in the woolly sheep inn and it was delicious. Hot and plentiful. The atmosphere was really good too! Warm and friendly. The staff were also very attentive, and the prices very reasonable. We will call again and again without a doubt. 10/10 on all aspects.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you very much, 10/10 is a brilliant review! We aim to provide delicious food in a relaxed, comfy traditional pub environment and were so glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We feel that we offer great value for money and our staff are always complimented on the friendliness and attentiveness, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews