We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent town centre hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed here a few times on business. It is OK - rooms vary a bit, some are very nice and some less so. Décor a bit dated and tatty in places.
Pub is lively but beer is not so good and food OK, but there are plenty of eating options nearby.
Free parking in adjacent car park which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWM710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of the things your identified as needing attention. My team and I will make every effort to make improvements in those areas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 443 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

i stayed hear with my botfriend for one night as we went to a family event in the area.
The hotel is very central and walking distance from shops, pubs and churchs.
the staff were friendley, helpfull.
the room was nice and large, had a tv, shower, coffee machine in it.
i will be using this hotel agian

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbied30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We at the George are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your boyfriend again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked for a business trip to Huntingdon, admittedly on a non-flexible rate. Within 12 hours and almost a week before I was due to go there my meeting was switched to Bedford. The Hotel insisted on taking payment for the first night - £75. There had been no loss to the hotel as they had rooms available still. Very poor customer service. If this is their attitude, then I pity anyone who chooses to stay there.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent dealings with The George Hotel. When booking there are both non flexible and flexible rates available. It is company policy to take pre payment for non flexible rates. I will pass your comments to the relevent people

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were due to stay at The George for a coupe of nights, a weekend break.

The town is very attractive being small and interesting.

The hotel was great, found us a room with minimum stairs, and next time they said request room 26 as it is on the ground floor.

The room was large and very comfortable, nicely furnished.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and busy but still smiled a lot

The restaurant was good, not haute cuisine but some very good dishes, including steaks and lamb-shank, all well prepared and well cooked.

the breakfast was also very good, minimum grease (which often kills a full English) with maximum flavour

We will return I expect and other should follow.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are really good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badger1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your staff with us at the George. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a horrible first visit the George offered a free meal.
I have to say this time the service was excellent & the food delicious. Fair play to the management for making amends.
We had the starter platter, fish & chips and a burger all were really nice. Staff were helpfully and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank morris69morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

I am glad to hear that you had an enjoy meal with us at the George. We are grateful that you gave us a second chance. Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online & we hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

14 of us oldies stayed for 2nights on our annual reunion.
Fabulous flowers in the courtyard. Excellent staff especially Chris our
lovely waiter,nothing was too much trouble for him.
But they need more staff,the existing appear to have to wear many hats.
Very comfortable beds,but decor is very tired.
Needs a lot of money spent to bring it up to scratch,and then they Would have an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the George. We try to make sure that we have the correct number of staff working at the hotel but sometime due to other issues we are let down. I hope this will not stop you and your group visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have only lived here for a little over a year and I cannot believe I haven't been here sooner! A friend and I met for lunch today and even though it was a bit busy, the service was absolutely outstanding and the food was fresh and fabulous! Afterward, we sat and had a cappuccino which was fresh made in front of us and also one of the best I've ever had! I can't say enough good things about our experience today. I am thankful my friend introduced me to the George. She has dined here a few other times and always has great things to say about the food. I can't speak for the hotel itself, only the pub/restaurant but it does look lovely both inside and out. Very clean as well.

Parking was a bit difficult today, however, we did arrive in the middle of lunch time. We were able to claim back our £2 for parking while dining at the hotel. That's a bonus! .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicmo9702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. It is always nice to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your lunch with us. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
0.1 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
1.2 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
490 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stukeleys Country Hotel
The Stukeleys Country Hotel
#8 of 9 in Huntingdon
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: George Street, Huntingdon PE29 3AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range: $70 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stuart Hotel dating from 1510, once owned by Oliver Cromwell's grandfather, with picturesque galleried courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Huntingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing