We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Cheriton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheriton House
Ranked #10 of 19 Huntingdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Choosen from random off the internet, but what a gem in the small village of Houghton. Lovely clean, rooms, and the hosts were both charming and friendly. A good night sleep (once the campanologists had retired to the pub!), and a lovely home cooked breakfast. I opted for the Salmon and scrambled eggs and it was delicious.

They only have 5 rooms so make sure you leave room for my next visit

Room Tip: I was in the annex which opens out on to the lovely Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrispyDuckRaglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 88 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked into this B&B as a result of all the previous very positive recomendatios.The visit certainly lived upto expectations.
We had a very friendly and efficient reception and Liz & Chris were always at hand and helpful during our stay. The rooms were all clean and the beds extremly comforable. Free fast WiFi and parking were available.
It was impossible to do justice to the magnificent breakfast.
The B&b is situasted in a very picturesque village and many walks are available thru the fields along the river bank.
We would certainly recomend Ceriton House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The title of my review will indicate Cheriton House is not just a B&B. We booked 2 rooms (1 double and 1 twin), the twin having a lot more space then the already generous sized double! The rooms were exceptionally clean and the en suites were well equipped and with Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. Both rooms were comfortable with several extra features such as a separate sitting area in the twin. Free Wi-fi and a selection of tea/coffee making facilities as well as the option to have fresh milk if desired. The service afforded to us by Liz and Chris Langley was both personal and professional. The breakfast menu again, was better than that of a 4* hotel with lovely choices both for meat and non-meat eaters as well as home made jams, marmalades and bread. Overall a friendly, clean and conveniently located B&B in a lovely village setting about 150 metres from the river and a National Trust working mill where the flour for the bread comes from.

Room Tip: The twin in the main part of the house is very large with a separate sitting area and overlooks a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Chris and Liz are the perfect hosts. Very welcoming, informative and helpful. Excellent breakfast.The bathroom through the wardrobe (don't worry it's better than it sounds) is a unique feature.
If Huntingdon racecourse is ever able to hold a meeting (last 3 cancelled) due to flooding, we'll be sure to re-book.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A really well located B&B. Big rooms with some nice touches- even providing a torch to walk the short distance to the pub!. Small car park at the rear(free); free wifi; tea&coffee etc all included. The hosts are lovely pointing out all the local amenities. There's a pub 50 yards away for evening food plus a small grocery shop as well for the DIY people amongst s.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Spongegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed over the New Year period for 2 nights and were made to feel very welcome. Our room was clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and cooked perfectly. We would recommend this lovely b & b to everyone and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent three nights here whilst visiting relatives in the area and couldn't fault any aspect of our stay-comfortable and well appointed accommodation in a delightful and quiet location,super breakfasts, and friendly,welcoming and helpful hosts.The perfect spot for our family visits and for a trip into Cambridge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntingdon hotels
1.2 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntingdon
696 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
522 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Pointers Guest House
Pointers Guest House
#1 of 1 in Wistow
48 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Grain Store Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton House

Address: Houghton, Huntingdon PE28 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Huntingdon
Price Range: $105 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cheriton House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cheriton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing