We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintaining an excellent standard”

The Abbot's Elm Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $96
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Maintaining an excellent standard”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went back yesterday for a lunchtime meal after sampling the evening fare earlier in the year, it's good in fact it's better than good, the whole experience from entering to leaving you feel as though you are the most valued customer on the premises. My steak was not cooked exactly to my liking but I didn't ask how the chef interprets the various degrees, but I couldn't have sent it back the flavour was to die for and as I always say a good steak needs no sauce!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxationjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    106
    30
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really friendly staff and lovely location”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was looking forward to an informal, relaxed evening eating outside in the sun but unfortunately it rained all night so we had to stay indoors but we still had a lovely time. We were taken to our table straight away and all the staff were helpful and friendly. The food was lovely and I thought the menu choice was a good one. The interior is very nice and imagine it would have a lovely atmosphere in winter months with the inglenook fire lit. Would have loved a little relaxed background music - shame the piano wasn't being used. Overall we had a really lovely time and nothing to fault.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Brilliant”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Abbots Elm every week for some time and have sampled many things from their menu and have to say that I find both the accommodation and food to be excellent. Julia, John and their staff are both friendly and professional and their attention to detail ensures a very pleasant experience. I have had the pleasure of staying in many top class hotels in the UK and abroad, many of which would do well to take a leaf out of their book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorMike200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Abbots Elm”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my second time staying here, a nice pleasurable
Experience, both John and Julia and the staff were very friendly and professional. Food excellent and breakfast beat me. Rooms very comfortable and free wifi. I stay away most weeks and it was nice to stay somewhere as good as this rather than the corporate type hotels. I certainly will return when on business in the region.
Many thanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crispie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a lovely table for 5 at the patio window of the restaurant on Sunday 11th August at lunch time. We were shown directly to our table which was beautifully presented with crisp clean linen. The waitress was very sweet and very attentive. The food was piping hot and absolutely delicious. The mushroom risotto is to die for and the best I have ever eaten. We all had a varied choice from the menu including roasts, trout, terrine and lovely deserts and every one of us was impressed with the quality and the freshness of the food. The owner went the extra mile for me as a veggie (after exchanging emails) and created a tasty veggie roast dinner with my own onion gravy. It was a great touch and very delicious and I didn't feel I was missing out! The house sauvignon blanc is very good and reasonably priced. The lattes at the end of the meal were very good and the homemade ice cream and sorbets were yummy and the accompanying fresh raspberries were the most flavoursome I have had in a very long time. We will definitely return to this great pub/ restaurant in it's beautiful village setting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JefferM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Abbot's Elm Restaurant also viewed

Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Abbot's Elm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing