We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 19 Huntingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting Duxford, defo worth the extra few miles drive to stay here.
Shona and Bob are perfect host's,the breakfast was amazing same as the showers,never left without a drink in your hand, perfect sat on the patio with a beer and having a laugh..

If have children,they could spend allday playing football with buster(the friendly dog)...

Top notch B&B will defo stay again..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mttbck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

OMG - if you're in the area and this place has some free rooms grab one quick!! - faultless - superb host - fantastic accommodation - the shower has to be one of the best, ever and is probably worth 50% of the fee, charged. The family have their own dog and welcome others...their dog, BUSTER took a shine to us and looked quite sad when we departed, or was he pleased....Meantime up the village of Ramsey a random woman on the checkout at tesco told me how good the place was when I asked for directions and 5 miles away the chef at the pub we ate at, couldn't speak highly enough of the place, behind the electric gates with a beautiful wrap round garden! - just try it!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for a full week and it's like we never left home. Outstanding food, and the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. Clean, comfortable, and a HUGE delicious breakfast. For those in the USA who are looking for a real piece of England, but don't want to be in the middle of the rat race, this is your place. You will have a great time with Shona, Bob, and Buster the dog. Recommend to anyone no matter how long you plan on staying, or why you are passing through.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are fantastic, just vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

First time we have been to the Shire lodge. We were made to feel very welcome,massive room with shower and bath with views over the field,great.
Breakfast was a great start to the day,totally stuffed by the end of of it and could have quite easily went for a lie down afterwards.

Thanks again for the stay,definitely will be back.

Gordon and Jacqui

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great welcome from the family including the licking lovable Buster! Comfy bed and corking big English breakfast made this brief stay thoroughly enjoyable. Honest, friendly service, warm and generous with honour bar and snooker table...no time to enjoy everything - recommend to all and will stay again if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JezzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. It is nice and also very important to us to know we are doing things correctly. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a real gem. Shona, Bob and Buster the dog were there to welcome me and despite the hail, Bob came out to help me get my case, while Shona made me a very welcomed cup of tea. My room was lovely and had a large bathroom, with a bath and shower. Everywhere was so clean and there are lots of little extras to make you feel at home. There is an honesty bar with a pool table, large TV and nice comfy chairs and a hot tub, sadly I was too busy to use them on this visit. The breakfast is fantastic, you are asked the evening before what you would like for your cooked part, yes there are courses and it is served at exactly the time you asked. I was spoilt too with a cup of tea every afternoon when I got back from work. I really hope that I will have the chance to stay here again, but for leisure so I can really make the most of my stay. I felt so welcome. Thank you Shona and Bob.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is good to hear we are keeping our standards up. We look forward to seeing you again when hopefully the weather will have improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights on business and would highly recommend because it is great value for money and the hosts are really warm and friendly with a real home from home feel. Rooms are clean, comfortable, attention to details ( bath robe and slippers and tea making facilities) and with a good choice of breakfast. There is a lounge with honesty bar and widescreen TV to keep you entertained on an evening. Conveniently located for Peterborough and look forward to staying again. If you are staying in this area you will be pushed to find a better place to stay and would recommend for business.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsClareDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona T, Manager at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Shona and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntingdon hotels
2.7 mi away
The Old Grain Store Bed & Breakfast
4.5 mi away
The Thorpe Guesthouse
The Thorpe Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Hemingford Grey
316 reviews
7.4 mi away
Redwings Lodge
Redwings Lodge
#15 of 19 in Huntingdon
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
White Lion Guest House
White Lion Guest House
#12 of 19 in Huntingdon
15 reviews
4.9 mi away
Braywood House
Braywood House
#16 of 19 in Huntingdon
35 reviews
5.7 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntingdon
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Shire Lodge Warboys Road | Bury, Huntingdon PE26 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Huntingdon
Price Range: $81 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star accommodation. Small and friendly set on the edge of Ramsey. Ideal location for Huntingdon, StIves, Warboys, Abbots Ripton, Ely, Peterborough, Wyton,Cambridge and surrounding areas. Separate lounge with honesty bar and snooker/pool table. Sky ( all channels). Free WIFI and free use of Hot tub with jets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing