We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch review - lovely setting, staff could do with smiling.”
Review of The Old Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bridge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on a lovely sunny day so sat outside. Waiter finally came over after 15 minutes of walking past us with a face to turn milk sour and asked what we wanted. I managed to curb my sarcasm by requesting a lunch menu and some drinks. He took drinks order then 10 minutes later we asked another waitress if we could please have a lunch menu. It arrived, we then placed an order (finally) and waited. Thankfully the weather was terrific and we were relaxed, I wouldn't have wanted to be in a rush. The lunch arrived, my order was wrong and had to go back. My friend finished lunch, mine arrived and was ok but not in line with the lovely setting and what I had hoped. Finally after waiting for 15 minutes to order coffee/dessert we gave up & went to pay the bill and left. There is nothing worse that being waited on by staff who are rude, this was my first visit here whereas my friend had been before and was eager to return however I won't be recommending. A great shame as hoped this would become a regular haunt for after racing at Huntingdon, I won't bother now and spend my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lalaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

There are never excuses for lack of friendliness or attentiveness. I can only apologise to Lalaelle. I hope other readers will see from other reports that these are not our normal standards! But we will certainly react to the criticism and ensure every one of our team knows what is expected. If we could be given a date when you visited that would help us investigate it further.

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for The Old Bridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 490 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Another lovely stay at The Old Bridge. Great welcome when we arrived and a real bonus to have upgraded rooms. Beds are comfortable, lovely towels, nice toiletries and great attention to detail. Friends came to join us for a meal in the evening and it was all lovely. The food was good, the atmosphere in the restaurant was great and the staff as always were helpful and friendly. Over the years we have been coming here the quality and high standard is well maintained. Long may it continue.

Room Tip: Room 7 and 32 and 33 are all good with very little traffic noise and nice bright rooms. Also not too...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWMW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We liked the large and well maintained bedroom and bathroom, plus the friendly service from the mostly young team that are the face of the hotel.

Enjoyed breakfast more than dinner, but the chance to try various interesting wines by the glass with dinner was a plus.

On site wine shop is excellent, nearby A14 (not audible in the room) is not!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thanks very much for the review. It's true the A14 is close by but (as you kindly say) it's not audible from inside. And the great news is that the plans have been approved to move it completely!

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed two nights in July and much appreciated the hotel and the service. After a couple of strokes, my husband now walks with a trolley; he found the ramp to the hotel manageable, and the staff were most helpful in indicating the way (his vision has been affected too) and opening doors for us.
Unfortunately, he fell on the first night in the early hours of the morning and hit his head on the sharp corner of the dressing table and became entwined in the trolley. The night duty manager (Sally) came at once and called the emergency services. She was a calm and reassuring presence (my husband’s face and hands were covered in blood). She and the policewoman (the first of the emergency services to arrive) were able to extricate him from the trolley and he was able to sit in the chair while we waited for the paramedic. Fortunately, the wound was superficial and, after some careful cleaning up, he was able to go back to bed. A nice touch was when a manager knocked on our door next morning to check that all was well and to offer us breakfast in the room.
The quality of the food and the cooking was excellent, with changing menus and imaginative use of ingredients; many items are available all day. Breakfast was particularly impressive. The food is supported by an exceptional wine list. The dining room is light and airy, and feels casual: formal dress is not required, but is not out of place.
Our room, 32, was indicated for us, since it is on the same level as the bar, restaurant etc. but since the shower was above the bath my husband was unable to use it. The decor was agreeable and the bed very comfortable.
Should the opportunity arise, we should be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Old Bridge is a lovely place to go, the bar is a great place to meet friends and enjoy a very good glass of wine and a bar meal. The restaurant is welcoming, the food is excellent and the service is faultless. The wine shop has something for any wine lover and John and Stuart are a mine of information and advice if required. The top terrace is lovely as is the rear terrace for a function. The rooms are lovely as is breakfast. A lovely place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We love staying at this hotel but not for the first time our experience has been spoiled by a noisy party on Saturday night. I phoned reception at 11.30pm and was told it was about to finish (no apology was given) when in fact it went on until nearly midnight. The music was just too loud and our room was reverberating to the base notes! It spoiled an otherwise lovely stay - thanks to Danielle for looking after us with a smile at both dinner and breakfast on our last day.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a party planned during your stay
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Vera D

Many apologies. We did indeed have a large party in our Riverside area on Saturday night. When this happens we do not let to other guests the rooms in the immediate vicinity. You were nearby in Room 5 and I had not realised you could also hear the music from there. So we will certainly add that room to the 'out of let' list.

Please contact me directly at the hotel so I can offer a small token of apology if you are able to stay with us again in the future.

John Hoskins, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife can be difficult to please but she very much enjoyed her stay here and I earned a lot of Brownie Points. I was very much impressed. The hotel is a good example of a business that has very much thought about the nature of the business that it is running and seeks to do simple things well
The hotel combines good accommodation with fine dining, staff who are helpful and well trained, and the added pleasure of being able to learn a little about wine in a friendly environment.

Rooms: We were required to choose a hotel at less than 24 hours notice. No double rooms were available but the hotel allowed us to use a large single room. The room was quite adequate. Although we did not view the double rooms, ours was nicely fitted and the bathroom was of a high standard. The map shows the hotel to be close to a road but there was no road noise in our room

Staff: The staff have clearl been well trained and their service was impressive. Staffing levels were high, staff were uniformed and all behavior was professional

"wine experience": The hotel contains a wine shop with a wide range of European and international wines. Experienced staff including a Master of Wine were present and helped one to taste and understand wines. Wines on the restaurant list were explained but one could separately choose any wine from the shop and have it served at the restaurant. Time may be necessary to ensure adequate chilling. Aware of their business, one is presented with a wide range of wines both in terms of wine type but also cost. Thus a good wine but at an economical price could be chosen. I think that wine tastings for groups could be arranged while an economical card system allowed us to taste an interesting group of wines. Staff held no pretensions and were very helpful

Restaurant: the restaurant had a number of per dinner lounges and an outside area. They allowed a pleasant preparation for the meal. Staffing levels were good and attendance to our requests were prompt. The menu was good and the food was well above average standard with my wife being especially impressed by the fish and the risotto. The breakfast was held in a separate dining area and was a delightful area. The evening restaurant is adjacent to an outdoor dining landing with the capacity for doors to be left open in summer. We were inside. The hard floors and the lack of natural 'baffling' made us aware that the restaurant could be noisy but this did not irritate us as it was mostly of people having fun

Others: I am not from the UK but thought the price to be quite acceptable to us. Time prevented us looking around the town and surrounding villages but the immediate gardens, the adjacent river and the surrounding block were excellent. I presume like all UK villages and towns that there are lots to see. Access was easy and parking good. We were on the second floor and I am not sure if a lift is present. Staff offered to move luggage but this was not an issue for us.

Why did we like it : Someone smart who understands their business has organized this. A good grouping of accommodation, fine food, pleasant surrounds and a wine experience. Staff who have been well trained and whose professional behavior suggests that they enjoy their work

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bradicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you so much for one of the best reviews we have ever had. You are very kind.

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
443 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
4.3 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bridge

Address: 1 High Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range: $127 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome, ivy-clad 18th century building, once a private bank, overlooking the River Ouse and yet right on the edge of the town centre. Its atmosphere balances that of a boutique townhouse hotel and a bustling, relaxed, traditional inn. 24 beautiful air-conditioned bedrooms with luxurious bathrooms. Fine but informal restaurant, twice winner of AA award for best wine list in the UK. Also wine shop with 'enomatic' tasting machines, bar with real ales, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon
Old Bridge Huntingdon
Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing