We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing break”
Review of The Old Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Bridge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked on the Easter one night break which was a dinner bed and breakfast deal, scones and tea were included too. It was good value for money and everything was done to a very high standard. The hotel was buzzing with locals and weekenders like ourselves giving the place a warm friendly atmosphere. We visited the wine shop and tried our hand at the different wines on the taster stand. We had the place to ourselves and the staff helped talk us through the wines.
The quality of the food was fantastic, I had an amazing beef dish which just fell off the bone and was so so yummy.

Breakfast in the morning was first class and everthing was cooked to order and very fresh

Our room was lovely, maintained to a very high standard with lovely fluffy towels and robes

We had a great time and would love to go back in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haz1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    113
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
67
193
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Easy to book & lovely that staff remembered the reason for our stay. Despite our room not being ready when we arrived (due to a wedding running late), we enjoyed afternoon tea by the fire. Our bags were delivered to our room once housekeeping had given them "the nod". I am so glad we booked Room 7....wow! The bed was super-comfortable, the room was well-equipped with everything we needed and as for the bathroom.....wow again.
No UHT milk with the in-room tea-making facilities - all we had to do ring reception, switch the kettle on and heh ho, fresh milk would be delivered in a jug!
This room looked out over the river and the gardens at the back of the hotel. Not a sound was heard during the night.....no voices or vehicles. It was also a very cold & snowy night but we were as snug as bugs in a rug!
Breakfast was varied & fresh. Husband commented that the smoked haddock was gorgeous. My full English was a bit on the cool side. I know I shoiuld have sent it back but "fuss", I'm not too good at!
Great to see this hotel busy, buzzing and just as popular as it was many years ago.

Room Tip: Room 7 - good views, quiet, warm, very comfotable bed and an enormous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexloveseatingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and have never been disappointed. Rooms and bathrooms are large with comfortable beds and surprisingly quiet given the proximity of the A14. Service faultless apart from a mix up with our breakfast order and food very good. For me the Old Bridge hits exactly the right balance. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We decided to eat here as we live nearby and it has plenty of parking. We found the conservatory where you dine lacking in atmosphere and does not share the impressive quality of the hotel exterior. The food was o.k. but nothing i would race back for. I found the consevatory more like sitting in a shopping centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerramjet365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay over, but use the hotel for lunch when visiting Papworth hospital. The staff are always so polite and friendly and very well trained.
The manager is lovely and really works with the team.
Our food on Monday was totally gorgeous. The fillet steak was melt in the mouth and the duck divine.
I would love to stay one day.
Thankyou to the new waiter for making my mother feel so relaxed on a stressful day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nygel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A party of eleven of us enjoyed a fabulous lunch in the terrace restaurant. Everything about the restaurant was just as you would wish it to be. A great atmosphere and busy. Essential to book a table if considering a celebratory meal. Everyone commented on the excellent quality of the food, the presentation and service. All in all a must if you are in Huntingdon and looking for a special restaurant with great service and charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil186243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a wedding, a big family party. Rooms were charming but service was especially great. Full english breakfast was fabulous, evening meal average but the staff went so above and beyond keeping the bar open for the bridal party and coming to the rescue of our sick infant at 3 in the morning with fresh bedding. This was an experience of service from a bygone age!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
14.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
15.7 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bridge

Property: The Old Bridge
Address: 1 High Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome, ivy-clad 18th century building, once a private bank, overlooking the River Ouse and yet right on the edge of the town centre. Its atmosphere balances that of a boutique townhouse hotel and a bustling, relaxed, traditional inn. 24 beautiful air-conditioned bedrooms with B&O televisons and luxurious bathrooms. Fine but informal restaurant, winner of AA award for best wine list in the UK in 2010. Also wine shop with 'enomatic' tasting machines, bar with real ales, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon
Old Bridge Huntingdon
Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing