We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel previously and all was excellent , but last time I used the hotel for a meeting (28th feb) my colleagues and I had the most disgusting sandwich (tandoori chicken) that any of us had ever experienced. It consisted of mainly lumps of bone, gristle and skin in a sauce and had it not been necessary to leave very quickly we would have complained there and then. Such was my horror that I feel compelled to make a trip advisor view for the first time. The hotel is excellent and I'm sure that given the opportunity they would have dealt with the issue correctly but any kitchen staff should know better than to serve anyone such rubbish. This food was not fit for a dog.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alantraveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 669 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

On a 3 night buisness trip, asked on check in about healthier meal options and confirmed available. When going to order felt options of meals although sounding excellant not what I required ( on low calorie diet ) on seeing my dilema member of staff came to rescue and sorted out with no fuss. ( top marks to Kim ) hope hotel appreciates the hard work its staff members do to make guests stay as memorable as possible. personal thanks to them all but Kim and William stood out for their helpfull and proffesional attitude. Would recommend a stay here to everyone.
Only down side was Internet charges and although 1 hour free this generally is noy long enough so do yourself a favour and go equipped with dongle as works out massively cheaper. STAFF Brilliant +++++

Room Tip: Suites are stunning recommend booking for romantic or pampering break
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

not always the greatest fan of large hotels i was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Good rooms, peace and quiet and a nice locatation. at the moment the gym and pool area are having a much needed make over, once finished all should be in order. Friendly staff. this is good for transport links but a little isolated if you fancy an evening stroll.

Room Tip: try and get a deal, there are plenty about
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcuvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently with four friends, two of whom came up from Kent. Rooms clean and spacious, brilliant breakfast and staff who were courteous and put themselves out to please us - thanks go to Christine who, as my friend had a hacking cough, even made a hot honey and lemon drink for her. Nothing was too much trouble for her and made breakfast so pleasant. Great selection of food - and the hot choice was just that, hot! So many buffet style breakfasts fall down on luke warm bacon, mushrooms etc. All in all a very pleasant stay.
Only negative was the quite expensive restaurant menu, so we decided to eat elsewhere in the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally503975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a pleasure it was to stay at this hotel, the staff were all very friendly and helpful (especially as 2 kettles didn't work).... but then on Sunday morning at breakfast a really lovely waitress -Christine Burgess - heard me coughing like mad and offerred me a 'hot lemon and honey'.... Wow that was fabulous, it helped my cough, and brought a smile to our party. Thank you Christine! And yes l will recommend the hotel after such wonderful, thoughtful service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judih G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed Friday and Saturday night. Third time staying here. All three times were for a large function on the Saturday night. All the staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Hotel very clean, rooms very good and very comfortable. It is a really nice place to stay and we look forward to going there to use the pool, spa etc. Can't fault that side of things - staff, service, rooms and general hotel excellent.
However, the food and drink prices are criminal. £3.60 for a tea, more for coffee. Wines, beers and spirits are more expensive than London's West End (bear in mind this hotel is in a business park, next to a roundabout on busy A14). Restaurant is empty every time I have been there, I would suggest principally this is because the cost is too high. If you do decide to eat there in the evening you will probably find yourself the only person in there, except waiting staff.
We have always driven out for our evening meal on the Friday as you can get much better value elsewhere (maybe try The George in Huntingdon, had great 3 course meal, coffee etc and service for £20 each).
On the Friday morning, we arrived very early and understandably our rooms weren't quite ready, so we headed into lounge, ordered 2 teas and 2 coffees....nearly £15.... quite frankly that is taking the mick. Lounge was full of groups of people on laptops, so maybe the Marriott has priced its beverages and food on business guests who are paying on company expenses.
Appreciate that hotels prices will always be more expensive, but this is far too excessive.
However, I must say that the breakfast is always excellent, good selection, food good and service good.
Its a shame as we love the hotel and staff are excellent, its the extortionate price of food and drink is all that lets it down.
Overall, excellent rooms, staff, service and general hotel - however, maybe try to avoid eating or drinking there unless you have won the lottery.

Room Tip: Maybe try to avoid rooms near reception as can be noisy and also rooms that are near the smoking are...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Staff were friendly and well trained if a little preoccupied in the leisure club. Swimming pool was a big hit with the kids on this weekend break. Room service was prompt and the food hot. Feels more of a three than a four star but a good standard overall. Chain hotels can sometimes feel unfriendly but not this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wageouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
1.6 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
443 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
388 reviews
15.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon Marriott Hotel

Address: Kingfisher Way | Hinchingbrooke Business Park, Huntingdon PE29 6FL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range: $87 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingdon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a highly regarded 4-star hotel in Cambridgeshire, the Huntingdon Marriott Hotel meets guests' expectations for attentive service, supreme comfort and thoughtful amenities. Located on the outskirts of Huntingdon, it's close to major motorways, Cambridge, horse racing at Newmarket and Brampton, the Nene Valley Railway and Duxford Imperial War Museum. Built in 1998, the Huntingdon Marriott Hotel offers distinctive leisure and business travel accommodation. Our Cambridgeshire hotel features the new bed by Marriott, standard guest rooms at our hotel feature flat screen TVs, air conditioning, en-suite bathrooms and all the luxurious Marriott touches you are used to. Enjoy the luxury of a one-bedroom suite, featuring a four-poster bed, Jacuzzi bath and flat screen TV. Fine dining awaits in Brooke's Restaurant, an elegant setting to enjoy a la carte specialties. For events from weddings to business functions, a superior meeting and conference facility transforms to meet the most exacting needs. When looking for Huntingdon accommodation, you couldn't find a finer hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntingdon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntingdon
Huntingdon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing