We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening of food and drinks”
Review of Hartford Mill

Hartford Mill
Ranked #2 of 15 Quick Bites in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Hartford Mill is a Greene King Pub & Carvery which offers great quality food and drink in a pub atmosphere that caters for all. We’re all about those everyday excuses to relax and unwind with friends and family. Our mouth-watering Carvery is served fresh every day and includes a choice of 3 succulent hand-carved roast meats, slow cooked for up to 14 hours. Alternatively choose from a selection of British pub food favourites. Our drinks range has been selected by experts to ensure the bar is well stocked with all of your favourite tipples. Make your selection from a wide range of wines, beers, national and local cask ales, craft beers, cocktails, spirits, and soft drinks. Our Wacky Warehouse is well equipped to keep the little ones entertained while you relax with a coffee. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was amazing and the service was spot on top rate, couldn’t have asked for anything better my partner and I rarely get a night out to ourselves as have 3 young children and we are glad to have picked Hartford mill as atmosphere was very friendly and welcoming. We have eaten her previously with the children too and they loved the food too.
Only improvement I can think of is to have more activities for the kids as the sheets for colouring etc could change and vary more as they do get bored quickly other than that I can’t fault the place.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Cara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went when it first opened and had a brilliant carvery. So we thought we would return 2 years later. Big mistake, the carvery was awful. Roast potatoes like lump of lead, parsnips black and horrible. Brussels and leek uneatable. Meat was not too bad, mash potatoes and carrots nice. The worst of all was Yorkshire pudding, was like cardboard. Will not go back.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MarilynL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WezC10, General Manager at Hartford Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Marilyn

Thank you for your honest feedback and review, I will pass on your comments to the kitchen but I would also like to add that we have not changed any cooking process or supplier of the items from 2 years ago as the quality is good so I am sorry if you feel this way but you must realise they are exactly what you had 2 years ago !

Again thank you for your comments a shame 1 bad meal 2 years on has put you off coming again such a shame when we have so much to offer if the Carvery is no longer for you
Would be great to see you back

Thanks

Wez
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited this venue on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. The carvery is excellent, the best we have had. The meat is very tender and there's lots of vegetables to choose from. Because you pick what size of plate you want and can serve yourself to the vegetables, you can decide as to whether you have a small, medium or large portion.. We have also had various other meals from the menu and they have all been good and of large proportion. Well worth the prices charged. On a sunny day it's lovely to sit at the outside tables overlooking the water. Very peaceful.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Odyssey51025726308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Hartford Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and rate us a fantastic 5 ⭐️!

We are so pleased to see you had a great experience with us and enjoyed your carvery!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Candice Dimond
Hospitality Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Hartford Mill for the Carvery and found that it was not up to its usual standard, the beef usually melts in the mouth but not yesterday it was so tough I had a job to cut it and chew it, the broccoli was almost raw. We were very disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ROY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WezC10, General Manager at Hartford Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Roy,

Thanks for your feedback I will feed this back to the chefs and ensure we get this right although we do not change any cooking procedures !

Also little upset as looking back we have not received any positive reviews from yourself yet on the one occasion you have a slightly disappointing meal we get a bad review again we really sorry if you had let us know on the day we would have got you a fresh portion of beef from another cut or refunded your meal

Thanks again for the feedback

Wez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed the food. Service was good. Tina was very attentive. Carvery, extremely good value. Attractive setting by the river.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Hartford Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Patrica

Thank you for taking the time to review us and wonderful 4 ⭐️.

We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your carvery and views. Thank you for mentioning Tina as it helps us to recognise our team individually for the outstanding work she had provided to you!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Candice Dimond
Hospitality Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartford Mill also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
St. Neots, Cambridgeshire
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 

Been to Hartford Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing