We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Houghton Mill (National Trust)
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
190 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

What an interesting mill, so much to keep you interested about the mill and it history.
Well worth a visit, it kept our grandchildren entertained.
Nice river to walk along, and also a nice village Houghton is.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally_Steve_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    87
    22
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a lovely spot, friendly helpful staff, we were camping and were very happy with our pitch. The toilet / shower block was spotlesly clean. The mill is very interesting with a lovely little tea shop next door that uses the flour made in the mill. Had soem good fishing around the area although the river adjacent to the campsite is pretty weedy although plenty of fish were caught. The main part of the river ouse is run by an angling club, day tickets can be bought from the post office or balifs for £3.50. If you are staying here you must have a walk into the village and sample dinner at the three horseshoes pub, very nice home cooked food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cliveyboy224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Tea Shop, Lovely Location”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We often visit the Tea Shop after walking the Dogs around Houghton Meadows along the river side. (It's thirsty work.) The staff provide a couple of water bowls, 2 different sizes, and are happy to refill them with fresh water (for the dogs, of course!). There is plenty of outside seating under the trees, some overlooking the Mill Pond. We usually have a Cream Tea, which is an excellent choice! The scones are made with the flour milled at Houghton Mill itself.
Non National Trust members have to pay to park, but for a whole day the £2. fee appears to be reasonable. A short distance form the Tea Room is access to the Mill Pond itself -appears very popular for messing about in on hot days! Families bring picnics and spend the day.
It is a lovely location, not commercialised (& long may that continue), but very busy on nice days.
Nice walks around Houghton Meadows, or crosiing through the Mill building on to Hemingford Meadows to Hemingford Abbots (and the Axe & Compass pub).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank G00dDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Working mill”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Have been several times over the years and it still interests me. Lots of information relating to the mill and how it works, its history and its millers back to the 1700's. We went in on a day when it was working which was very interesting. Lots of hands on tasks for children to do such as grinding wheat on stone, turning stone wheels, seeing how a lock works and operating a scaled down mill. The kids enjoyed it too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baldock
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beautiful mill building and village”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

wonderful restored old building and flour mill that works once more.
We looked all over the mill and from the displays, photographs and interesting volunteers found out all about the history of the mill and about the restoration work.
Enjoyed seeing the waterwheel being started and flour being milled. We the bought some to take home and will be able to make scones like the lovely ones we bought in their Tea Shop.
The Tea shop makes some very good food.
The quiche was very good as was there cream tea for two with a lovely big pot of tea!
Really great !
Will go back and explore surrounding area more.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank paula o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houghton Mill (National Trust) also viewed

Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Houghton Mill (National Trust)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing