We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stukeleys Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stukeleys Country Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
county durham england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“overnight visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

just got back from this hotel and i have rebooked to return in jan . hotel is clean and tidy and my room was massive and well heated ,the only problem i found in my room was rubbish in the draws from the previous guests..My partner and i ate in the hotel and the food was lovely the breakfast on the morning was lush and plenty of it 2 . You can hear sounds from the bar but not loud enough to keep you awake my suggestion would be to join the guests and ave a pint and a gossip with the locals . loads of hot water which is another good point . All staff were polite and give us a enjoyable stay thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatehips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
10
7
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Attempted to book a room over the phone. Member of staff was very matter of fact but polite that she was the only staff on and was doing both bar and reservations. I was asked if I could hold on a minute. 5 minutes later I hung up having heard her serve multiple other customers (phone not muted). Only fault with the staff member was their failure to just take a number and call back if they're that busy. Hotel's fault for only having one person on to cover reservations, bar and service at lunch time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntingdon hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as decided to have a change from the Huntingdon Marriott as can never get a 3G signal on Vodafone whilst staying there. Big mistake! Staying for one night as in Huntingdon on business.

I had to ask for a different room as the first one I was given absolutely stank of raw sewage! Quickly changed rooms and came down to the bar for a drink. Ordered a pint, took a few sips, put pint down, few seconds later picked it back up to find 3 flies belly up having a swim!

Food - ordered the steak pie, plenty of it but tasteless and the veg had the life boiled out of it. Wouldn't suprise me if it was left over from Sunday lunch (it's Tuesday), again had to eat in the company of many flies and with a beer mat over my second pint.

Im writing this mid stay and already not looking forward to bed time, already realised that road noise is horrendous and like a previous poster said, can here everything from the bar and other rooms.

Oh the joy!

On a plus side they have free wifi and managed to get a faint Vodafone 3G signal.

Up to you to make an informed decision!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank W4lshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed again at The Stukeleys Country Hotel for 2 nights while attending a dog show. I have to say it did the job - we were just looking for a cheap place to stay for a few nights that accepted dogs, and it fitted the bill nicely.
The room was a family room, with a double bed and a single - beds were very old and not all that comfortable, but ok. The room itself was clean enough, as was the bathroom, although it was very dated looking. Plus point - the shower was excellent, very powerful and plenty of hot water. We had a meal on our first night - Sirloin Steak for my partner, and I opted for the Mixed Grill. Both were excellent - my partners steak was cooked medium rare as ordered, very tender and tasty. My mixed grill was very good - steak, lamb chop, sausage, gammon steak, egg, mushrooms, tomato, and chips. Breakfast both days was excellent - well cooked and tasty. yes the service was a bit slow but it was the one guy taking orders and doing the cooking. I have to say the service was very good - they are a bit understaffed, and it seems to be just a few people doing all jobs, but everyone we spoke to was very pleasant and helpful (even opening the restaurant early for us one morning as we had to be away sharpish). Yes it is a bit dated and shabby, but the staff are good, food is good, and lets face it you get what you pay for - in my opinion this is a good value hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This so called hotel is nothing of the sort. the staff and management are horrible and unwelcoming. The whole building is dirty and needs burning down and starting from the foundations up. The staff, including the manager are just rude and make you feel as though you are a burden to them, even though, I assume, they are actually paid to be there and to please and serve their guests??
Food is average to poor to say the least but the service and cleanliness means that I wouldnt even put my dog up here if it was kennels.

what looks nice on the outside is nothing compared to the dirtiness and unfriendliness on the inside and you are made to feel so so unwelcome here.

I wouldnt go here again if they paid me.

Sell up and let someone else who cares about their guests have a go as the location is good and this place could be so much more.

I wrote a letter to the manager a month ago and still have not had a response...........is this their usual level of customer service?? one would assume so.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pay2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is a pretty village pub in a nice quiet location. We were greeted and seated swiftly on arrival. Waitress remained attentive throughout our meal. Large and comprehensive menu and it arrived quickly.
Food was tasty and well presented with ample portions.
£38 for three of us for lunch with only soda water to drink is on the pricey side and glad I was on expenses!
I would take customers back here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakefield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

The room was big and had loads of character in the hotel and rooms. The Food was at the top end of Pub food. If you stay in the rooms above the bar there maybe some back ground noise but it will all go quit by 10:30.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
2.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
2.6 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#2 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stukeleys Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stukeleys Country Hotel

Property: The Stukeleys Country Hotel
Address: Church Road | Off Ermine Street, Great Stukeley, Huntingdon PE28 4AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stukeleys Country Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the charming village of Great Stukeley, only 5 minutes from the A1 and 30 from Cambridge, this former 16th Century Farmhouse offers home-made food, free Wi-Fi and parking. The Suffolk pink, ivy-covered building is a welcoming beacon on the road north from Huntingdon and attracts an eclectic mix of travellers and local residents. Infused with the warmth and character of its historic past, great care has been taken to preserve the original brickwork, solid oak beams and large fireplaces. With an abundance of attractions just a short distance away the Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Cambridgeshire. Each of the 7 en-suite bedrooms has a character all of its own with many featuring exposed wooden beams, fireplaces and countryside views. Comfortable and well-appointed they all include free Wi-Fi access, HD flat-screen TV, telephone, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. Both Double and Family room types are available and they can also accommodate well-behaved pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Stukeleys Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing