We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it does what it says on the tin..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stukeleys Country Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“it does what it says on the tin..”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed again at The Stukeleys Country Hotel for 2 nights while attending a dog show. I have to say it did the job - we were just looking for a cheap place to stay for a few nights that accepted dogs, and it fitted the bill nicely.
The room was a family room, with a double bed and a single - beds were very old and not all that comfortable, but ok. The room itself was clean enough, as was the bathroom, although it was very dated looking. Plus point - the shower was excellent, very powerful and plenty of hot water. We had a meal on our first night - Sirloin Steak for my partner, and I opted for the Mixed Grill. Both were excellent - my partners steak was cooked medium rare as ordered, very tender and tasty. My mixed grill was very good - steak, lamb chop, sausage, gammon steak, egg, mushrooms, tomato, and chips. Breakfast both days was excellent - well cooked and tasty. yes the service was a bit slow but it was the one guy taking orders and doing the cooking. I have to say the service was very good - they are a bit understaffed, and it seems to be just a few people doing all jobs, but everyone we spoke to was very pleasant and helpful (even opening the restaurant early for us one morning as we had to be away sharpish). Yes it is a bit dated and shabby, but the staff are good, food is good, and lets face it you get what you pay for - in my opinion this is a good value hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
7
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This so called hotel is nothing of the sort. the staff and management are horrible and unwelcoming. The whole building is dirty and needs burning down and starting from the foundations up. The staff, including the manager are just rude and make you feel as though you are a burden to them, even though, I assume, they are actually paid to be there and to please and serve their guests??
Food is average to poor to say the least but the service and cleanliness means that I wouldnt even put my dog up here if it was kennels.

what looks nice on the outside is nothing compared to the dirtiness and unfriendliness on the inside and you are made to feel so so unwelcome here.

I wouldnt go here again if they paid me.

Sell up and let someone else who cares about their guests have a go as the location is good and this place could be so much more.

I wrote a letter to the manager a month ago and still have not had a response...........is this their usual level of customer service?? one would assume so.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pay2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntingdon hotels

Peterborough
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is a pretty village pub in a nice quiet location. We were greeted and seated swiftly on arrival. Waitress remained attentive throughout our meal. Large and comprehensive menu and it arrived quickly.
Food was tasty and well presented with ample portions.
£38 for three of us for lunch with only soda water to drink is on the pricey side and glad I was on expenses!
I would take customers back here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakefield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The room was big and had loads of character in the hotel and rooms. The Food was at the top end of Pub food. If you stay in the rooms above the bar there maybe some back ground noise but it will all go quit by 10:30.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during a festival nearby - and had to keep saying to ourselves "its better than camping in a field" to make our stay bearable.

Pros
- Location to festival
- Friendly staff
- Breakfast

Cons
- The whole place may be clean but looks dirty, needs new carpets and a lick of paint
- Extremely thin walls and ceilings, you can hear the room above rolling in their bed and the people below chatting in the bar. The room doors also slam which echoes through the building.
- The mattress was horrible!
- The toilet had been cleaned but in the hinges area was very dirty.
- Curtains may has well not been there, I think they may have even amplified the light!

All in all disappointed with our stay and would not recommend or come back - as much as I hate to say this as I like supporting local businesses we will be finding a travel lodge or similar next time.

Room Tip: I cant remember which room we stayed in but I guess the top floor would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookerTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Pretty frontage, all pink and surrounded by flowers. Friendly atmosphere, staff very helpful. Stayed in a lovely room at the top of the hotel, horse-riders trotted by the window in the evening, added to the country village experience. Had a meal in the bar, competently served and well presented.
I left something behind and the helpfulness and considerateness of Elaine, who I spoke to, and the effort they put into reuniting me with my possessions was fantastic. Thanks, I will definitely stay with you again.

Room Tip: Good for local stay, friendly staff, pretty hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truesuestory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
1.3 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
660 reviews
2.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
480 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
375 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stukeleys Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stukeleys Country Hotel

Property: The Stukeleys Country Hotel
Address: Church Road | Off Ermine Street, Great Stukeley, Huntingdon PE28 4AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stukeleys Country Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the charming village of Great Stukeley, only 5 minutes from the A1 and 30 from Cambridge, this former 16th Century Farmhouse offers home-made food, free Wi-Fi and parking. The Suffolk pink, ivy-covered building is a welcoming beacon on the road north from Huntingdon and attracts an eclectic mix of travellers and local residents. Infused with the warmth and character of its historic past, great care has been taken to preserve the original brickwork, solid oak beams and large fireplaces. With an abundance of attractions just a short distance away the Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Cambridgeshire. Each of the 7 en-suite bedrooms has a character all of its own with many featuring exposed wooden beams, fireplaces and countryside views. Comfortable and well-appointed they all include free Wi-Fi access, HD flat-screen TV, telephone, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. Both Double and Family room types are available and they can also accommodate well-behaved pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Stukeleys Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing