We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Huntingdon

“Nice place to eat”

Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 125 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Have eaten here on a couple of occasions and it is always buzzing and busy, but you can usually get a table and the service is speedy with lovely staff waiting tables. Only had a sandwich this visit, which was adequate if a little disappointing, sadly. The chicken was very cold which affected the taste - it tasted of nothing really - and the tarragon sauce was negligible, so that didn't perk the chicken up. Such a shame because the food is usually very good. Only other gripe is the price - £10.95 for a sandwich is quite high.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hilary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Hello Hilary.

I'm really pleased you liked the hotel and I am very sorry your last sandwich was disappointing. I will check it (the chicken and avocado) today - it's normally very generous - and with lots of tarragon mayonnaise!

But I must point out that your review is factually incorrect - that sandwich, with homemade crisps and salad, is £8.95. I would appreciate it if you could correct your review, just so other readers aren't misled.

Thanks again.

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 682 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

First time we’ve been and it certainly won’t be the last, very friendly and knowledgable waiter by the name of Kristian was very good and the food was superb rack of lamb and pork belly were our mains but couldn’t fault any of the dishes, very nice atmosphere busier than we were expecting we will be back in the summer as the grounds look very nice and now the A14 is closed there won’t be the constant rumble of passing lorries

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Rusdevcobann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Thank you for the great review Rus. And yes - we are really pleased to see the old A14 closed too!

See you again soon.

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Visited today for family lunch, opted for the January sales menu which was fantastic value, in fact so good that we have booked again for next week. Perhaps more occasions when a fixed menu could be offered would bring increased return customers?

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank bonners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Thank you Bonners and that's a very kind review.
Yes, we will consider whether to offer a set price lunch on a daily basis, something we haven't done for a while.
Best wishes
John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

I hired the private dining room for a meal for 26 closed friend and family. The service was amazing. The food was excellent. All very high standard and great attention to detail.

The staff were very attentive when discussing my requirements for the event.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank christinedZ3292UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you very much Christine. That's very kind of you to write a positive review. The private dining room has hosted so many great family occasions (including quite a few weddings) - it's a lovely space for these events.

I hope we can see you again soon.

Best wishes.

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

Had dinner here last week and was surprised at how good it was. First of all the setting is lovely - it's a great looking dining room and doesn't feel like a hotel restaurant or a pub restaurant either. The room is very well designed and has an excellent atmosphere.

I found the menu slightly confusing though - there's nibbles, snacks, starters and mains but clearly some of the snacks are main course sized. Once you navigate this though you should be in for an evening of very good/excellent food. Bread was very good 9/10. The smoked salmon nibbles were tiny but lovely 10/10. Venison terrine with chutney and toast was very good 8.5/10. The star dish was the pork belly - one of the very best I've ever had - it's a dish I love and I often choose it. Was almost put off it by the waiter who said he didn't like it and would rather eat bread than pork belly - 10/10 for honesty but not quite what I expected - was super relieved I chose to ignore him. Cheese from Neal's Yard was excellent 10/10. The almond and orange bread and butter pudding was less exemplary - a bit dense and so only 8/10 although I did enjoy it - the ice cream and creme anglais were both 10/10.

Service however did not live up to the very high quality of the setting or the food. It's always going to be hard to train and retain decent waiting staff in a small town like this and so I didn't let it either affect my enjoyment of the evening or the score here and although the evening got off to a poor start service did improve considerably. Having lived in Toronto for the past 2.5 years where service in 99.5% of places is so very good though it just makes examples of poor service so much more obvious and disappointing.

Overall a really enjoyable evening with some fantastic food in an excellent setting.

Breakfast the next day was just as good.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TimManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Thanks so much for your detailed and positive review Tim.

Delighted to hear you enjoyed the environment and food so much. Apologies for any lapses in service. if you have a moment, do email me (via the website) to let me know what specifically went wrong - it would be really helpful so we can try to solve any issues!

With best wishes for 2020.

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing