We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, good for shopping”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Francis Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2010

I stayed here in Dec 2009 after a long day shopping in Northern Ireland, the hotel itself is very well located close to the Buttercrane Shopping Centre, Newry is a very busy town especially with cross border shoppers like myself. It has its own carpark which was pretty full.

We arrived to the hotel late without a booking and were greeted by the friendly female receptionist and we did a deal for B&B for the night. The room was rather outdated and the TV was ancient, however it had RTE and BBC so was not a total failure. Most importantly the room was clean and it was also quite large with two double beds for the three of us. There was a little bit of noise emanating from the street outside as the Hotel also has a busy bar O'Dowds.

After our arrival we checked in and had Dinner downstairs, the food was brilliant and well priced, again the Breakfast the following morning was a great Ulster Fry and the restaurant and bar food was very good. Overall the hotel is well placed but could do a whole lot better, it is too expensive and needs to overhaul its rooms to bring them up to more modern standards. However for the tired motorist after driving 300+miles from the south on a shopping trip it was a welcome rest.

The following day was spent in Newry taking advantage of sterling bargains and greater variety in the Buttercrane and the rest of Newry. Newry is well located for cross border bargains and is a large town but its one-way system is annoying.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomthepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

Arrived friday early evening, checked in early by very courteous lady who showed us to our room. We were given great information about nght life & shopping, enjoyed a drink & nice meal in O'Dowds. Great breakfast saturday morning, set us up for the day's shopping ahead. Few beers saturday evening in the vibrant O'Dowds & after another fab meal decided to take advantage of our resident passes to The Relic Nightclub, had another few beers and a great night, good music & very couteous bar staff, (fab colour changing dance floor by the way) Check out was very smooth, will definately recommend to my friends and be back myself, great location for the xmas shopping trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coopbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We found our rooms very nice, very clean and maintained every day. Staff very friendly we were not big eaters so they arranged fresh fruit and yoghurts for breakfast anstead of the traditional fry ups. For us the only thing that put us of was the disco they had until the early hours Thursday Friday, Saturday and Sunday night it made it impossible to sleep, also there was so much street noise from party goers and construction noise opposite until 3/4 am. Fantastic hotel if you want to partyevery night but would not recommend for business users or people that enjoy thier sleep!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTwinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I thought the staff of this hotel were very friendly and helpful espically pauline and all the bar staff with a special word of thanks to the night porter.

Thanks for everything from Gary and all the boys of the INF club

see you soon

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed in this hotel last Friday the 17th September 2010. It was way overpriced for what we got. When we arrived the girl at reception tried to get us to pay up front, and when we got to the room we found out why. The room was dark with only one window above the bed below the high leveled ceiling. The room was drab and the bed was very creaky and uncomfortable. It also had no duvet, just a thin sheet and a very old woolen blanket that had seen better days. One of the two lights was broken as well as one of the lights in the bathroom.The ensuite was for a disabled wheelchair user and im sure that health and safety wouldnt pass that in its current condition, the paintwork is chipped off and the steelwork below is all rusted. The panels surrounding it were disgustly dirty. Also the halls in the hotel stunk of dampand you could hear every movement from the people in the room above. Our reason for staying was a wedding party and when we arrived back to the hotel with two other couples that were staying there we were locked out. We had to wait 15minutes in the freezing cold before anyone answered the phone at reception and let us in. When i complained the next day and asked for a discount off the overpriced charge of £80 for the room we were refused poin blank and told ' sure its only £40 each'. Ive stayed in hostels in a private double room with ensuite in much better conditions for half the price of what we were charged here. No appologies for being locked out or for our uncomfortable stay was offered. Also the parking facilites for this hotel is an absolute joke, an awkward L-shaped yard with little room for manouver and limited parking spaces. When i came out on the saterday morning there was damage to the paintwork to the front of my car, which i assume was from someone trying to manovuer themselves out of a tightspace.
Im sure that all the latest reviews marking the hotel 'Excellent' are definately from the owners and staff of the hotel, because im sure anyone who has sayed in this hotel wouldnt describe it any better than a dump.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jocelyndaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I had an excellent stay at this hotel, as did my colleagues that stopped there too. The staff were friendly and approachable and the room was spot on for what we needed. It was clean, tidy and comfortable as well as very spacious. The en-suite bathroom was also clean and tidy, the only thing wrong with it was the dodgy hot tap for the sink. The food was delicious and very good value for money. All in all, a very good trip and if we return to Newry, we'll know where to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyimnotpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

when we arrived for check in we were greeted with a well mannerd lady who escorted us to our room and the service was great the room was beautiful and the food was gorgeous and the bar staff were great craic wud book again in the future

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colleenm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
0.2 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
5.1 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
312 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
327 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Court Hotel

Address: 13-19 Francis Street, Newry BT35 8BQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $60 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Francis Court Newry
Francis Court Hotel Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing