We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very very nice!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Court Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Francis Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“very very nice!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

having read some of the reviews after booking the Francis Court Hotel i was alarmed, although on arrival we were met by lovely staff Christien and Leone. we went to the room and the room was fab fab fab we were delighted. Breakfast in the morning was good and the evening meal was good too would def stay again thanks Pauline!!!! C R

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    8
    7
    15
See reviews for
11
27
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Should the Canal Court be full and your looking for another place to stay in newry then may I suggest a warm bus shelter rather than the Francis Court, service (ha) is non exsistant , food , ie breakfast is fine ( for death row inmates) the cell , sorry rooms are tired and filthy , you may get lucky and get a view of a white trash shopping centre or in my case a brick wall with a satellite dish, but the best part of my stay was trying to sleep.... You can , should you wish to retire at 7am stoned out of your brains .... One way ticket to Dublin airport please.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulwillus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCH01, Manager at Francis Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I am very alarmed to have read your review of our hotel and for once am finding myself speechless in my response. Although it is a very witty review which I applaud you for, it does raise some serious issues with our rooms and with the standard of our food, which we pride ourselves upon and are usually praised for. With the issues you have raised in your review I would have expected that you would have lodged a complaint with reception and unfortunately I am unable to find any having been made. I would urge you to contact reception directly so that we can address your issues.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

More a review for O'Dowds bar as we went a couple of times during our visit to Newry and saw some of the hotel which looked great.

So O'Dowds , great beer, thought out design and decor and amazing food. Would definately recomend the Cajun Fillet Chicken Burger , quite outstanding.

Right opposite the Buttercrane shopping centre, so great to pop into for a quick beer and food to have a break from the shopping.

The hotel itself seems to consist of the hotel, O'Dowds, another bar next door which seems to be for the older clientele and a very swanky nightclub called bed , thou I think they were in the middle of revamping the name

So if youre looking for good food and drink, Odowds, staying a night in a great shopping town the Francis Court, a night out clubbing Bed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Travelled from Dublin,and met up with family from Derry in the Francis Court Hotel, to spend the night there attending our brother's 40th birthday.
There was a problem with booking, the lady at the reception called Pauline was fantastic, she knew how to do her job well,and was so kind and helpful going out of her way to accommodate us. Thank you Pauline for everything your fantastic. Food well priced and lovely, bar staff also very helpful, and the wee man on night duty was so good. Overall a good time was had by all, and for us it was Pauline who made our stay worthwhile she is just a little jem, and if her boss reads this i would give her a promotion and a raise, she deserves it for the work she does, she is the one who would make me want to go back and stay again.
Thanks Pauline for EVERYTHING, your a star.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

travelled from derry to newry for my brothers 40th birthday party stayed at the hotel and was really impressed with the rooms there was a bit of a mix up with our booking but it was quickly taken care of by the receptionist i think her name was pauline she was very kind to our party .the food was excellent and we will defo stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I booked myself and a large group into the hotel last weekend and we had a brilliant time, the staff were absolutely first class and could not have been any more helpful. The food was great and the hotel offers excellent value for money. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wordsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I found this little gem of a hotel to stay in by virtue of local recommendation at Mc Swiggan's Bar, going in off the street, the staff were very accommodating and efficient, the room was heaven and the four poster bed and furnishings were quite something. The bathroom quite lovely and lovely water pressure from the shower ideal for me. Breakfast was superb. Night club on Saturday night was not my thing, but all finished fairly early and did not affect my stay at all. Happily will revisit and may be sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamoanRoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
0.2 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
5.1 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
11.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
18.6 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Court Hotel

Property: Francis Court Hotel
Address: 13-19 Francis Street, Newry BT35 8BQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Francis Court Newry
Francis Court Hotel Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing