We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”

Flagstaff Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 116 Restaurants in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Has to be the nicest restaurant in the area , great food & service , very family friendly , keep eye out for the chicken stir fry have never tasted anything like it with homemade chunky chips , highly recommended ,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewryGolfInn, Manager at Flagstaff Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your food and many thanks for your positive feedback. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    40
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious food will be back”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited for our tea, good choice on menu had steak sandwich and goujons with tasty veg and sides .

Very busy but still good service with polite and welcoming staff.

Will return again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royalgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewryGolfInn, Manager at Flagstaff Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Your positive comments are very much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and hope to see you very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top notch joint”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just been here tonight.
You can never go wrong with this place when looking for a nice bite at a reasonable price. The staff are quick and attentive and always serve with a smile. The decor and atmosphere is a lovely touch and often go all out at Christmas time. You're rarely ever waiting long for your food to arrive.
Scrummy cuisine is an understatement with the food here. My recommendation is the chicken curry. The rice has the odd bit of red and green pepper thrown in which makes a rich explosive flavour. The curry has a good selection of vegetables including peppers, onions and green string beans and the sauce is a lovely blend of spices, which complements the taste and texture of the chicken. The icing on the cake (not meant literally of course) would be the garlic bread, which blends surprisingly well with the curry sauce. I know some people would be sceptical of course but people were proved wrong about the combination of chocolate and curry being distasteful. The chips compliment all this as well, with a generous thickness and traditional taste to boot. One con I would say about it though is that sometimes the sauce would be thick enough to start but would get a bit watery near the end. It doesn't take away from the taste though.
All in all it's a great place for atmosphere and food. If you're driving on the motorway on the way to Belfast or Dublin it's a great place to stop at as it's conveniently placed just a few hundred yards from the A1. It is also a great place to go for Sunday Lunches.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewryGolfInn, Manager at Flagstaff Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Many thanks for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoy the food... especially the curry and hope to see you soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
299 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday luncheon”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I happened upon this place driving south from Belfast on a Sunday afternoon. It looked attractive, so we stopped for lunch. Are we ever happy that we did! While we ate, we must have seen dozens of locals stop by to pick up "take away" meals which obviously this place had prepared many times before. If the locals love it, it must be good. It was! There is a fixed price buffet (about $12 per person) for your choice of carvery fare (tender beef, ham, etc.) or lamb shank, fresh salmon, chicken, etc., and three types of potatoes, carrots, parsnips, condiments -- very large portions and you can order several choices -- all in all, one of the best home cooked meals I have had in a restaurant in quite some time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewryGolfInn, Manager at Flagstaff Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We are delighted that you took the time to stop off on your travels and join us. Our food is prepared fresh each day and are happy to know that we made a great impression. Hopefully when you are back in Ireland you will call again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Visited golf club for christmas party last nite best service and food fabulous staff amazing and the whole night a great success

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewryGolfInn, Manager at Flagstaff Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are really happy you enjoyed the Christmas party and hopefully be back with us very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flagstaff Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 
Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 

Been to Flagstaff Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing