We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and service”
Review of Yellow Heifer

Yellow Heifer
Ranked #1 of 120 Restaurants in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tradtional Irish pub that serves top quality Irish food with an eye for detail and superb flavour, fresh seafood dishes weekly, family friendly.
Newry Co Down
1 review
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had heard a lot of good reports from a number of people about the food and service at the Yellow Heifer and it turned out to be 100% true, Took my wife for Valentines. The food and service was Fantastic, the steaks were cooked to perfection, the restaurant has a warm and friendly atmosphere, the staff are friendly and always on hand to help. A special thanks to Sharon for looking after us so well. We will definitely be back. And the Guinness was awesome best I've tasted.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanT774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    42
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will be back”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The food and the place was class we didn't book even though they were busy they still found a table for us! Food really good the only thing was my steak was cooked wrong but when I asked them to fix it that done it and were very apologetic and couldnt do enough for us will be back again soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Owner at Yellow Heifer, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thankyou.
I'm sorry to hear we got your steak wrong the first time around, but really gald we were to sort it out efficiently and it didnt spoil your experience with us. If you remind us it happened the next time you visit us, I guarantee it wont happen again. Sometimes something like that can totally put people off and they dont get the full experience we try so hard to provide them with, I am really delighted it was'nt so in this case.
Thankyou again.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited this restaurant/pub on Sat night on a girls night out. Service first class, food absolutely beautiful and atmosphere was so relaxing. All the choices on the menu sounded delicious but i chose steak and it was perfect, as was the sticky toffee pudding. I will definitely be returning (might take my husband next time so he can pay) i really want to try the raspberry and white chocolate bread and butter pudding :) keep up the great work guys x

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Owner at Yellow Heifer, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thankyou Martina.
Another great review for us!! We look forward to seeing you again and meeting your husband too! Hopefully we can pull it off again.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“You have to go!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

After hearing good reports from different people we decided to try out the Yellow Heiffer. We had a lovely time. The staff were very professional and friendly. The food was excellent, great menu and plenty to choose from. What marks this place out from any other restaurant in the Newry area is not only the good food but the staff! It is definitely worth a visit and would highly recommend! Thank you Yellow Heiffer for a terrific meal and terrific night!! V happy customers!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AOAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Owner at Yellow Heifer, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thankyou very much for the great review, comments like this make it worth while, it let us jnow we have done our job well. Thankyou!
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food excellent service”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Had our work party here. Set menu and a large group. Service was friendly and efficient. Food excellent. Looking forward to experiencing full menu

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ssem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Heifer also viewed

Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 
Newry, County Down
 

Been to Yellow Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing