We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site for the big wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We attended a big family wedding here. It was great hotel for this purpose. Losts of room. Great food. Not much in Newry but wedidn't care. Rooms were very nice but not inexpensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin6070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

Had my wedding here in April and the hotel made everything so easy for us! They were so helpful and nothing was a problem at all. We had our own manager with us for the day (Damien) - he was great and sorted anything we needed him to - from changes in guests to moving people at tables, nothing was a problem.

All our guests raved about how gorgeous the food was and how quickly everyone was served and offered second helpings.

We stayed for the full weekend and even the day after the wedding we were treated so well it was fantastic. An example of excellent service was when my bridesmaid accidently left her jewellery in her room when she had checked out to go home the next day. Straight away, reception called me to my room and had it delivered to me immediately without me even requesting that. They really do go the extra step.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Fantastic huge, clean rooms with great big comfortable beds. Clean bathrooms with lovely powerful showers. The reception staff were great, helpful and friendly. I was disappointed though with the service for evening meal and breakfast. We booked a table for a large group of us for 8pm, but we were not shown to our table until 9.25pm. In the morning, we had a plane to catch and needed breakfast very quickly, and the service was slow again. It's a nice enough hotel though and if you're not in a rush, you might be able to deal with the slow service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Excellent Hotel in general
Staff experience excellent at their work
Very family friendly,
Very clean
Food excellent
Fit for a King

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed in CCH recently. When checking in the reception area looks lavish but I found this didnt carry on to the rooms. The lift we had to use to get to our wing was a disaster,took ages and then didnt always stop level with floor, causing trip hazard. Other lifts were available to other wings,dont know if they were any better. The rooms were big concern, ours overlooking lots of air conditioning units etc which meant we couldnt open windows even though it was baking hot at nights. Rooms were not very clean with lots of hairs on floors,baths,sink etc. Also hairs on bed and on furniture. Food was reasonable but overpriced and the hotel is in excellent location for town centre activities. Would not stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEON44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

was ok but reception area needs carpets and upholstery cleaned lingering smell of urine staff very nice.
It is deffinatley over priced

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tipperary36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Stayed at the canal court hotel for 3 nights. The staff were polite and courteous at all times. Checkin was very efficient. the surroundings had great ambience.The hotel was spotlessly clean. The room was comfortable and the bed was the biggest i have ever seen! The food was cooked to perfection.The barman cillian made our stay great just by making us feel welcome. Will definately return!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4STARTRAVELLER12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
747 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
17.2 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $117 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing