We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star hotel with 5 star +qualities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Stayed at the canal court hotel for 3 nights. The staff were polite and courteous at all times. Checkin was very efficient. the surroundings had great ambience.The hotel was spotlessly clean. The room was comfortable and the bed was the biggest i have ever seen! The food was cooked to perfection.The barman cillian made our stay great just by making us feel welcome. Will definately return!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4STARTRAVELLER12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

956 - 962 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2009

Great hotel in the centre of Newry. Good bar/leisure centre.. Excellent ulster fry

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We had a one night stay here and i was impressed by the hotel. Biggest bed ive ever slept in!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyronetheduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We went on a hen weekend. 18 off us and we stayed in the Canal Court. The service, location and hotel was brilliant. The bars around the town were all age groups and the night life was great!! The night cub in the hotel was also very good but extremely packed but it was Easter sat night we were there so thats maybe why a bigger crowd was out.

I would reccomend anyone of age and gender to attend this hotel for an over night stay and if your dissapointed with anything I will be very suprised. Its one of the best hotels I have stayed in!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank younger1Magherafelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Having stayed in the Canal Court Hotel for a Hen Night ! I have to say it was brillant. From the minute we walked in the door, the hotel is gorgeous - beautifully decorated and thought out. Staff couldnt have done enought for us. Rooms were 1st class - the size of the party didnt seem to matter from a room of two to room of four space was brillant and ameneties within the room- we even had room for six which was brillant - it was split into two rooms within one big space. The food was absoultely lovely and briallant size portions. All in all the Hotel had a brillant atmosphere I cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grainne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Stayed with a wedding party just before Xmas 2008. Couldn't fault the service, food, room, anything! Just a wonderful place to stay for a celebration.

One problem though, roads round the hotel are mega busy - we saw the hotel nearly 40 minutes before we actually got through the door.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Stayed here for just under a week while working in Newry. Looks a bit normal and dodgy from the outside, very plain and motel looking. Once inside your greeted by grand'ness, very posh and expensive looking. The reception area is good, the staff here are quite helpfull and polite.

I was staying in the normal double room, which on first glance looked very nice and clean. The room is quite big and spacious while the bathroom is medium sized.

The bed was comfy enough, though not spottless, for a 4/5 star hotel I would of expected alot more from the cleanliness side of things. The carpet was kind of dirty and in need of a new one. The rooms decor was pretty bland and oldish looking.

The bathroom had soap, mini bottles of shampoo and bubble bath. bottles of water and even a mini sewing kit and shoe buffer.
The shower only had one speed and that was pretty fast, took a while to find the right temp, bath was clean though the shower head was rusty and dirty. Floor always got flooded from the shower as the shower curtain was pretty pointless, would benifit better from a glass door.

There is 2 places to eat, though I plumped for the bar. The food was pretty decent though overpriced. The staff in the bar were also polite and helpfull.

The breakfast was good also, decent food though the staff in this area were not as polite and helpfull as other areas. A bit miserable at times. Im still waiting for my toast lol.

All in all my stay was good, enjoyed the food and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fluffypants82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
720 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
312 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $122 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing