We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A first class hotel , however !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“A first class hotel , however !!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This property is very nice indeed with its traditional features integrating with the up to date modern facilities. I spent two nights here on business and enjoyed most of it.
I dinned in the charter bar on my first night and I have never seen so many smartly dressed waiters (one waitress) all in the one bar/restaurant at the one time, unfortunately neither have I seen so many waiting staff carry on, giggle loudly, fool around and ignore customers who needed to order, ask questions about the food, have plates cleared away etc etc, the waitress spent her time at the till whilst each male water flirted with her one at at time. It would seem if you are seated in a side room you are forgotten about, no one seemed in charge, no leadership.
The food was hot, fresh and plentiful and very reasonably priced, just a pity.
The next night I had dinner in the Old Mill and very nice it was too, the food again was hot, fresh and plentiful if a bit more expensive, it is a more formal experience.
The breakfast both mornings was spot on in every way.
The rooms are large, modern and very clean.
I most likely will be back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Jim,

I appreciate you taking the time to review a recent visit to the Hotel & am sincerely sorry that the service was not up to standard within the Granary Bar. I am currently investigating the issues raised with the Barsnacks Supervisor & also waiting staff.
We do place great emphasis on providing excellent, high quality food and strive to provide exceptional service so I am extremely sorry you did not experience this. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future to experience our true standard of food & service.

Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
Deputy GM
johare@canalcourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    242
    60
    38
    27
See reviews for
239
267
26
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a charity bike ride on way to Dublin. Hotel is in the centre of the town. Hotel is lovely and the rooms big. All very clean. The staff were excellent throughout. Good spa and gym. Did not try treatments as it was booked up.Had proper silver service in the restaurant and the was very good . Would recommend

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Zoe,
Many thanks for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. It is our aim to try and recreate a "home away from home", a place to relax & enjoy your time. I am glad we were able to provide you with a relaxing stay and we look forward to your return.
If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,
Kindest Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had run out of time after coming across on the ferry from Scotland, heading for Tipperary. Accommodation was booked out at several towns along the way before we got to Newry. We didn't know what to expect but it turned out really well. Very competent staff, good size rooms and an excellent breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more for our quick one night stopover.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fxoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,
Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This was our second girlie weekend to the canal court hotel we love it so much. Staff are wonderful and friendly they can't do enough to help you. Rooms are very clean and beds comfortable and the food is Fabulous no complaints there.

I was also there a few weeks ago with my hub too we had a wonderful time was just disappointed that the jacuzzi bath didn't work as we booked the executive room specially for that. We did report it to staff who sent someone to sort it out but alas it still didn't work but that wouldn't stop me from going back to the hotel.

A great hotel for that yearly treat

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review & I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I apologise that you experienced problems with your jacuzzi bath, if you are returning to the Canal Court Hotel & Spa in the near future please contact myself directly & I will be more than happy to look after you.

Kind Regards
Mrs Janet BAgnall
Deputy GM
johare@canalcourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleisland, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wasn't expecting kind of premier inn standard but this place is much better than that. Not somewhere we would normally choose but had to do a speeding awareness course and was on hols locally so stayed here and did it. Kind of old fashioned in style patterned carpets and heavy furniture but great rooms. Large and clean with great showers. Only niggle was tiny tv for size of room. What really made this hotel was staff who were plentiful and incredibly helpful. Parking could be touch and go as on site car park gets full. On site granary pub style restaurant seemed very popular with locals, great service, cheap and best chips I've had for a long time. Close to shops and revamped canal walk. On site pool spa etc but didn't get time to use. Would definitely stay again. Shame it's not dog friendly at all

Room Tip: High floor gives a view over Newry
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legolander706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments and detailed review. We do aim to provide a relaxing & comfortable "home away from home" for guests and It is nice to learn you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

There Sunday Lunch Is Fantastic Staff are very Helpfull and Friendly Love It Lots of People There on Sundays when we are there. That is all I can say because it is only to Sunday Lunch we go to. Meet lots of people that go every week they enjoy it that much we are going again on Sunday 8th June and again On Sunday 15th For Fathers Day

Room Tip: I have not stayed in it overnight but I know People who did and they said Rooms were very clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very nice hotel and front desk staff are so helpful. Again we arrived early and staff immediately offered to hold our luggage while we met friends for lunch. Our room was great and we LOVED the shower. I believe it was a memory foam mattress...very comfortable! We enjoyed a drink before bed in the upstairs bar...very quiet place and very relaxing. Breakfast was quite nice and included in the price. This hotel is located in the heart of town so you can walk about to enjoy the sights. My only complaint would be the parking. The lot is just outside the door but parking is limited. Since we arrived late morning, the lot was busy with other people parking, not just hotel guests. We did find a spot but it took a bit of time. Lot seems to empty later in the day.

Room Tip: #301 looks out on canal at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommaw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review & I appreciate the kind comments regarding your stay. I apologise that you experienced difficulties with Parking & whilst we do not always have car park attendants on duty we do have restrictions in place to try & ensure that car parking is available only for residents & hotel diners. If you are staying with us in the future & you ever experience any difficulties with parking please speak with Reception who will be happy to park your car for you as soon as a space can be located within our carpark, which is locked during the night to ensure safety of guest vehicles.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
628 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
644 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
223 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing