We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night a family of 4...I couldn't fault this hotel whatsoever....it was absolutely spotless...the staff couldn't have did enough for you and the food was fabulous. ...very reasonable prices for top class food....spa was brilliant great hot tub and jacuzzi and pool was great size....I am only back and am going to book another stay ASAP!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank IrelandEmma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Really enjoyed this place, friendly staff and a great location as well as lovely premises. Although the weather wasn't great the place and the people made up for that. I shall be back next year with the family!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had a great 2 nights stay in hotel, staff were fantastic and so helpful nothing was a problem to them. Carvery is great. I would go back and stay in this hotel again.The rooms were lovely and big, spotless and the tea and biscuits were renew each day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments and detailed review. We do aim to provide a relaxing & comfortable "home away from home" for guests and It is nice to learn you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kindest Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This review refers specifically to the midweek carvery lunch in the hotel's Granary Bar. Often, on this island, the carvery lunch can be a real hit-or-miss sort of affair, but not at this hotel! When in Newry we stop here for lunch whenever we get the chance, and it has been consistently good for over a decade that we know of. Efficient service; large selection on the daily menu, very good value, very good ambience. Always clean and welcoming!

Room Tip: Try to arrive before 1:00 or the queue can get long at the carvery. Also, parking is tight in this t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drumraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Granary Bar - Carvery Lunch, we appreciate very much your kind comments. Carvery is served daily an offers a wide range of roast meat selection, fish & vegetarian options served with vegetables & potatoes, as well as a salad bar.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kindest Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel and will be going back.The only thing I found a bit disappointing was after reading other reviews I noticed most of the people celebrating 80th Birthdays received banners ,flowers and a cake.We went for a two night stay to celebrate my sisters birthday and our mothers 80th Birthday.Some people celebrating anniversary even got an upgrade!,My Mother and sister got a banner.Surely what you do for one you should do for all?As for staff and service you are all 5stars.

Room Tip: We stayed in room206 facing car park and didnt hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments and detailed review. We do aim to provide a relaxing & comfortable stay for all Our guests.
In regards to Birthdays, Anniversary's & Special Occassions - we provide Occassion Banners on the doors & if dining in the Restaurant if we are aware that it is a special occassion we will bring out a birthday dessert etc. In regards to cakes, wine & flowers we can certainly arrange these for guests at an additional charge.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

can not understand some of the negative comments about this hotel we stayed from tuesday until thursday in october the staff were fantastic they made you feel special, nothing was to much trouble, when we went for breakfast in the morning we were greeted and shown to a table our order taken , then asked if we need anything else , the breakfast set us up for the day , we had our evening meal there to , and could find no fault the same excellent service, the deserts were also very good, the rooms were lovely and big, spotless the tea and biscuits were renew every day, would stay there again with out a moments thought thinking of going for a week next year ,as we could not enjoy all the facilities as we were there for a family members funeral, we had to change our flights and the lady on reception helped to print our new boarded passes out well done for having such caring and helpful staff

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the canal ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunbeam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here at the weekend and would recommend this to anyone staying in Newry. The service from the staff was fantastic at check in/out and breakfast the next morning. The hotel room is very spacious, the beds are comfortable (with a choice of pillows) and the bathroom very clean. I would have loved to spend more time in the hotel and would definitely go back to stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room facing the Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fee1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. It is our aim that all guests find the Canal Court Hotel a place to relax & enjoy their time, whether it is for business or leisure break. I am glad we were able to provide you with a relaxing stay and we look forward to your return.
If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
721 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
316 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $121 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing