We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here at the weekend and would recommend this to anyone staying in Newry. The service from the staff was fantastic at check in/out and breakfast the next morning. The hotel room is very spacious, the beds are comfortable (with a choice of pillows) and the bathroom very clean. I would have loved to spend more time in the hotel and would definitely go back to stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room facing the Canal.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fee1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. It is our aim that all guests find the Canal Court Hotel a place to relax & enjoy their time, whether it is for business or leisure break. I am glad we were able to provide you with a relaxing stay and we look forward to your return.
If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Canal Court Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Canal Court Hotel, Newry. We got married in the hotel 2 years ago and due to our new little arrival last year around the time of our anniversary, we only had a limited celebration. This year we decided to return to the hotel for a 1 night stay to celebrate. When we arrived at the hotel we where greeted by the friendly staff, in fact the staff throughout the hotel were super friendly without being in your face and certainly made us feel very welcome. We had booked into a standard room for the evening but when we collected our room card 417 we both thought it sounded familiar and much to our amazement we had been upgraded to the Bridal suite we had originally stayed in during our wedding with a Happy Anniversary banner across the door. To say my wife was delighted is an understatement, I'll have a lot to live up to next year. Once we had got over the shock we made use of the great leisure facilities and enjoyed the outdoor rooftop hot tub. Afterwards we got ready and went down for dinner. We relaxed and had drink listening to the talented young pianist. Once we were taken in for our meal the food was first class as was the service again, very friendly without being overbearing. After dinner we went into the bar area for another drink and as my wife is pregnant the friendly bar man Cillian suggested a "mocktail" (cocktail with out the alcohol). We sat and relaxed and can honestly say it was the best night's sleep we had in ages, the bed was huge and so comfy. We would not hesitate recommending this hotel which is in a great city centre location and handy for all the local areas of outstanding natural beauty. Top marks all round and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Mr McAlpine,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments and detailed review. We do aim to provide a relaxing & comfortable "home away from home" for guests and I am delighted you enjoyed the upgrade to our Superior Suite, it was a pleasure that we could offer this as it was for a special occasion.
I appreciate very much your commendation of Cillian in our Bar Team. I will ensure Cillian is made aware of your kindness also and I would like to extend thanks on his behalf also.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards & Best Wishes
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

went to the canal court restaurant on sunday afternoon for dinner we arrived at 5.30 and went upstairs where we were greeted by a waiter, drinks order taken and menus given. our food order was taken at 5.45 and we sat comfortably chatting until 6.15 when we were asked to go o the restaurant our table was ready ten minutes later our starters arrived. we were very disappointed by the crab claws and mussels which were overcooked and supposed to be in chilli and lime butter but not much taste of either another irration was the stale bread rolls. main course was much better but I felt we had too wait too long for startersl 40mins have to say I was disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skanker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest
I appreciate you taking the time to review a recent visit to the Hotel & am sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your meal in the Old Mill Restaurant. I am unsure if you spoke with the restaurant manager or a member of the management team at the time regarding your meal. I would be very grateful if you could contact me so we may investigate & hopefully resolve this matter to your satisfaction.
We do place great emphasis on providing excellent, high quality food and strive to provide exceptional service so I am extremely sorry you did not experience this. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future to experience our true standard of food & service.

Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

just back from a 3 night break. great hotel was surprised by the size of the standard rooms(really big). It was my wifes birthday and they pulled out all the stops. THe location is great right in the centre of the city,Staff really freindly and helpful, Meals great, the facilites great. Really looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny112ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. It is our aim to try and recreate a "home away from home", a place to relax & enjoy your time. I am glad we were able to provide you with a relaxing stay and we look forward to your return.
If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kindest Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at canal court two nights in oct. I was on busness (coach driver) so I don`t know what the rate was but found the hotel very good.Big room,comfy bed free internet.and the staff was good.Its also near town.So well worth checking out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay! I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went there this year 3 times we have a 2 year old and the pool is perfect staff are very nice we love the place and good food bar food very nice its hard to find parking its small reception staff are very good hotel i big and might be hard to find your way around

Room Tip: Best spa you will find in hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I are frequent visitors to The Canal Court, in fact our wedding reception was held here quite a number of years ago and we can honestly say we can't think of any aspect that could have been done differently as the service on our special day was truly outstanding,

We decided to celebrate our recent, significant wedding anniversary and the staff really couldn't have done more: on arrival we were allocated room 317 and when we reached the entrance we found a lovely Happy Anniversary' banner, taped to the door.

On entering we found ourselves in the most glorious suite; an entrance hall with doors leading to a large bathroom with twin basins, spacious shower and Jacuzzi bath. Another door led to a large, airy, well furnished sitting room with a view towards the canal and having the following: a fireplace with a living flame inset (switched on to welcome us), sideboard with integrated mini bar, three piece suite, glass cabinets, writing bureau, dining table with six place settings and various, pleasant wall hangings. The third door led to a spacious bedroom with a super king size bed and lovely soft furnishings. This suite has the most calming, pleasing ambience and we can highly recommend as being worth the price tag!

We ventured out in the evening and made our way to The Old Mill Restaurant, where we enjoyed a beautiful meal in air conditioned surroundings with extremely professional staff on hand to ensure our every need was met. (A special mention to Mary and Niall in the restaurant, also Jean Watts, Accommodations Manager and finally, Leeanne on reception).

Although this hotel exudes old world charm and ambience, it is the staff that make it really special. We always find they are polished, professional, cheerful and extremely attentive...we just love each experience but this recent visit, that is really the subject of this review, exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to return! thank you all so very much xxx

Room Tip: If it's a special celebration then a superior suite will not disappoint! Truly amazing!!,
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your lovely detailed review & kind comments. I appreciate very much your commendation of Mary & Niall from our Restaurant Team, Jean Head Housekeeper & Lianne in Reservations Department. I will ensure all the staff are made aware of your kindness also and I would like to extend thanks on their behalf also.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kindest Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
711 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
306 reviews
18.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $119 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing