We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a matter of taste”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It's a matter of taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Canal Court Hotel for one night on the business trip. There is nothing wrong with the hotel as such but it's just too shabby and old for my taste.

The good thing is that it is centrally located and the rooms are big. Also the staff is very nice, attentive and helpful.

The wi-fi signal in the room wasn't perfect after it finally started working (it took three people and couple of hours to have it sorted, but the staff was genuinely trying to help). There was a wired internet cable on the desk to connect your laptop but I didn't have one with me as I was working on the iPad and my phone, so only wi-fi was useful. Great wi-fi signal in the bar downstairs though.

I didn't like the decor at all and the bathroom (especially bathtub) could have been cleaner

Well equipped gym is a big plus. There is also a pool but I haven't used it so I can't comment on it

Also, nothing special about the breakfast

Still, I guess it must be the best hotel in Newry town

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time in reviewing your stay. It is our aim to try and recreate a "home away from home", a place to relax & enjoy your time. I am disappointed to read that you found the hotel shabby, perhaps the Hotels old world decor is not to your particular taste.
Wifi is complimentary throughout the public areas of the hotel, also wired and wireless connection is available within the bedrooms for guests. I apologise that you experienced problems with the connection and our maintenance team are addressing the matter in regards to the connection problems that you experienced.

With regard to Breakfast, we offer a freshly cooked Breakfast, made to order ranging from the traditional irish breakfast to Smoked Haddock, Kippers or a variety of Omelete types. In addition to this we have a wide selection of items available at our continental breakfast buffet area. This includes; Fresh Fruit, Yoghurts, Fruit Juices, Cereals, Croissants, Danish Pastries as well as a selection of ham & cheese. Previous tripadvisor guests would have drawn attention to the "plentiful, excellent" breakfast which they have enjoyed, and indeed this would be the general feedback we would receive on a daily basis.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future & If myself or any of the team can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on johare@canalcourthotel.com

Kind Regards
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    242
    60
    38
    27
See reviews for
239
267
26
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for a night with a hen party. It was part of a package deal, one night stay, 1 dinner and go-karting. Rang in advance to see if it was possible to check in at 2 o'clock, we were told that was fine. Arrived at 2 but left waiting in reception as the rooms where not ready. Eventually they told us that 2 out of the 8 rooms were ready so we thought everyone could drop their luggage in those 2 rooms and head off for some shopping while waiting for them to finish the other 6 rooms. We reached the first room and it was a mess, carpet wasn't hoovered, coffee granules had been spilt all over the dresser, toothpaste marks all over the bathroom work top, glasses in the bathroom had been previously used etc. went back down to reception to sort it out, no apology from sinead at reception, overall she was horrible to deal with, horrible attitude. Also she wanted to charge us extra because a handful of older women out of the group didn't want to go go-karting so went for a bite to eat instead, which didn't have any effect on our stay at the hotel, also they expected one of us to sleep on a fold up camping bed, would not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieh151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel and I am very sorry that you had a disappointing experience. I have investigated the matter with Sinead the receptionist that was looking after you on checkin and there was some confusion in regards to rates but had been rectified. In regards to checkin time - hotel checkin is at 3pm, however we will do our upmost to accommodate guests if the room is ready or free the night prior and check guests in early. Unfortunately a room from your group was checked in early that had not been serviced and I apologise for this. However all rooms from your group had received the keys to their bedrooms at 3pm. With the fold up bed, we had tried to contact you several times the week prior to your groups arrival to receive the rooming list. I have checked and there were originally three quad rooms and two twin rooms held, but my records show that once we received your rooming list a member of your party had dropped out. You would have been advised that this would have occurred a single supplement charge but to avoid this charge we could place a fold up bed into a twin room.
I do hope this recent experience will not deter you from revisiting and I would be delighted to discuss further with you the details of your visit if you could contact me on johare@canalcourthotel.com.

Kind Regards
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visit the canal court regularly and the food is fantastic. Mary is so welcoming and the rest of the staff in the restaurant are extremely attentive. The Beef Stroganoff is the best I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobysmum140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Janet Bagnall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary for two nights .the room we we given was wonderful and he beds and pillows supremely comfortable. The only down side to this hotel is they had a lot of loud music thumping away , I think in the nightclub part, till after midnight, then drunken revellers noisily leaving. This was for one night, but still not good enough. The hotel staff are second to none, as is manager, Mr Whelen, who looked after us so well.the food was gorgeous and we had a fabulous time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy61Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that some aspects of your stay were less than satisfactory & in particular the noise aspects of your room. I appreciate your kind comments in relation to the food, bedrooms & staff within the hotel but am extremely sorry that our night staff were unable to ensure you had a peaceful and relaxing stay. I would be extremely grateful if you could contact me on johare@canalcourthotel.com as I would like to fully investigate how this occurred.

Kind Regards
Janet Bagnall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for one night with our 4 children (aged 9 to 2), following a family party, which was also held in the hotel. The event staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the party. Our bedroom had a great layout for the six of us, with plenty of space. Our 2 year olds loved the slide into the little pool. The breakfast was delicious and service good even though the restaurant was very busy. Would recommend for any event and a comfortable, good value break.

Room Tip: Room 108 has a brilliant layout for families-2 bedrooms but just the one entrance so little ones can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanonry18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments and detailed review. We do aim to provide a relaxing & comfortable "home away from home" for guests and It is nice to learn you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Janet Bagnall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very convenient hotel right across from the bus station. Lots of seating area in reception and bar. Good leisure centre. Really good breakfast - hot food served to the table. Eat twice in the bar and thought it was very good. Very nice friendly staff. Would definitely recommend it to friends who are in that part of the country. We used it as a base to get to Belfast.

Room Tip: one room was on first floor and other room on 2nd - no noise problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Janet
johare@canalcourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights on the week commencing 9th September. The hotel is reasonably clean and the staff are very friendly. The pool/jacuzzi/sauna are clean and accessible. The restaurant is of a great quality although very expensive! We did have a problem with the Wifi in the room. Signal was very poor and out of 2 phones, 2 laptops and an iPad we could only get poor signal on one of the laptops. We asked at reception several times for someone to look at it. On the 4th occasion someone visited the room with a phone to verify our tale and gave a purposefully distracting conversation conflating bandwidth with signal range amounting to "there's so much steel in the room it's hard to get a signal" we felt this is a big problem that the hotel should address when clearly offering free wifi in all rooms. Other than that this is a good hotel, and recommended for Newry.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
18.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing