We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a casual getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights on the week commencing 9th September. The hotel is reasonably clean and the staff are very friendly. The pool/jacuzzi/sauna are clean and accessible. The restaurant is of a great quality although very expensive! We did have a problem with the Wifi in the room. Signal was very poor and out of 2 phones, 2 laptops and an iPad we could only get poor signal on one of the laptops. We asked at reception several times for someone to look at it. On the 4th occasion someone visited the room with a phone to verify our tale and gave a purposefully distracting conversation conflating bandwidth with signal range amounting to "there's so much steel in the room it's hard to get a signal" we felt this is a big problem that the hotel should address when clearly offering free wifi in all rooms. Other than that this is a good hotel, and recommended for Newry.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've stayed a few times in the Canal Court now and every time it's a pleasure. It's a modern hotel but designed with an old style to it. The bar has a lovely traditional feel to it, the restaurant always feels busy and bustly with great food served well and the reception areas are all roomy and comfortable. Bedrooms are all a good size and nicely decorated. Breakfast is served to your table with a continental buffet - always nice to get the personal touch rather than buffet. The car park can get a bit full but that's a reflection on its popularity. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've used the Canal Court before, for a business meeting and was profoundly unimpressed - it really wasn't very nice at all, the bar food represented poor value and the whole experience was bad. All that I said in my previous review still stands.

In fairness I found dining in their restaurant a much better experience, the food was nice, the serving staff were at least trying to be pleasant - we are talking about Newry after all - and the surroundings were clean. We ate from the a la carte menu and it seemed very expensive for what we got, mind you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfastconfetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our first stay at the Canal Court and from the moment we were checked in by the lovely Patrick (dark hair) on Saturday afternoon until we left this morning we had a brilliant time. I suspect Patrick may have kissed the Blarney Stone as he could charm the birds from the trees! Staff are very welcoming and exceptionally helpful. Any hesitation will bring a member of staff to your assistance. My husband alerted staff to an issue in a public area and it was attended to immediately.

The food was lovely and the entertainment both nights was great. We couldn't believe the crowds and the hotel has an amazing buzz. The bed is so comfortable too - a proper home from home.

For those who like to shop there are two shopping centres and plenty of other shops within walking distance. The bus station is just across the road so even if you don't drive it's very convenient.

Two female friends who had booked a short break elsewhere for this weekend has cancelled and booked with the Canal Court this afternoon on my recommendation. Only one tiny quibble - take your own hairdryer girls and you'll thank me for that piece of advice - trust me on that one.

We will definitely go back and can't wait - we're looking forward to it already.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and didn't hear a sound all weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank togsseniormoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here and dined here quite a few times...service from all staff is always professionsl and they are all helpful. The food is fab in both bar and restaurant. Always has a lovely atmosphere and the place is usually buzzing!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karcalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently on a business trip, for the first time in ten years, and it hasn't lost its quality. The hotel offers a very pleasant environment, the staff are very pleasant and helpful, and the food is very good. The hotel is very centrally located with ample parking and is within walking distance of all the main shops and amenities of Newry City. The bedrooms have been updated and are spacious and very comfortable with all the facilities you need, flat screen TV, Internet connection, ironing board, tea/ coffee making facilities, and a very clean en-suite.

It is ideal for a business trip or a weekend break with full access to the leisure facilities. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a short break, in Sept 13. Couldnt fault anything, room was fresh, clean and had all amenities - exceptional choice and quality of tv channels too which i hadnt found about some 5 star hotels!! What stood out most about the hotel is the friendliness of all the staff, from reception to the restaurant and leisure centre. Also, could not recommend the food enough! Our package included dinner and it stood head and shoulders above most other hotel food, I will certainly return again - even if it is just for the food - Amazing! Service was quick, food such high quality and portion sizes were massive - such good value for money!
Leisure centre was good, lots of room in the changing rooms and outdoor hot tub a bonus! Also its located on 2nd floor saving an embarrassing trip across the main public areas of the hotel with wet hair and gym clothes!!
Very impressed with the hotel overall and would definitely recommend as you will certainly get value for money here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_ana_K994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
733 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
334 reviews
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $112 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing