We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had to stay here for two nights on business. Hotel is in the centre of Newry and is visible for miles around due to its massive stature. Internally the hotel is huge with stairs and rooms in all directions. Greeting was warm, attentive and efficient. Room was usual hotel fare - clean, functional and up to date. Bar was busy with a mixture of locals and guests. They had a £2.50 per pint promotion on whilst football was on TV which seemed to make it popular. Used the restaurant on the first night - service was very good and food was excellent.

Breakfast was a nice relaxed affair with plenty of choice of both hot and cold food.

Overall - a really nice stay whilst on business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

The impressive traditional outlook and decor of the building defy the modern approach found in this hotel.I had a nicely cleaned room, en-suite facilities, kettle, TV, wi-fi etc, but the service (although friendly) could be a little too relaxed at times. I found myself waiting a long time to get served the overpriced food in the upstairs restaurant, and I was surprised and disappointed that they could offer nothing for breakfast when I mentioned I had to leave before 7 am to catch my flight. My company had actually prepaid for the overpriced breakfast and I had to leave without...anything! .
Its also a bit of a shame that the location happens to overlook the main bus station. Not the most enviable view from a hotel window. That's just how it is...I don't think I'd rush back.

Room Tip: The rooms are fine with modern amenities and reasonably quiet too. Just get in early to guarantee a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lokie2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay and I am sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay & the service which caused dissappointment. I would be extremely grateful if you could contact me on dferguson@canalcourthotel.com so that I may fully investigate the points mentioned.
All our bedrooms rates include a Full Irish & Continental Breakfast and I am concerned that you feel your company paid for an "overpriced Breakfast" I would be happy to check your account & can assure you that no additional charge for Breakfast is ever added. With regard to an early Breakfast we do offer the full continental breakfast if guests are departing during the night & this would include Tea, Coffee, Toast, Breads or Pastries, Fresh Fruit, Yoghurt, Cereals, Ham/ Cheeses etc. The full Breakfast Menu including large & small traditional breakfasts, Omeletes, Fish Options etc are all available from 6.45am however as our Chefs would be here from 6am they would be more than happy to prepare a Cooked Breakfast at anytime from 6am.
With regard to the view from your room I am sorry that again this caused dissappointment & our front facing rooms which overlook the Canal (as well as the bus station beyond the Canal) are normally selected by guests who like the view of the City, Canal & Cathedral which these rooms offer.
I do hope you do have the opportunity to return & I would be extremely grateful if you could contact me to resolve the issue relating to your Breakfast & Invoice. I look forward to hearing from you in the near future,
Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

In November 2012 we held our wedding reception in the Canal Court. We had visited on several occasions for weekend breaks and knew instantly that this was the place for us.

I work with venues on a daily basis, never have I had such wonderful treatment from staff and the Manager, Janet O'Hare. They went well above and beyond in every aspect of our wedding planning and our wedding day, nothing was too much trouble and from decoration to food, everything was perfect.

I was expecting some guests to have to have some complaints as that is what family wedding guests do, but instead, they are still raving about our big day especially the meal and service of the staff, their rooms and the breakfast the next morning. They even accomodated those little too drunk of our guests that refused to go to bed by bringing out the leftover buffet food from our wedding and letting them finish that off.

We stayed for a second night in the bridal suite, which was offered to us as part of our wedding package at half price for a second night. We were still treated as the bride and groom even in extending our stay receiving room service meals that surpassed meals we often have in other hotel restaurants. The bridal suite itself was amazing with a separate living room with fireplace and dining area, a separate bedroom with four poster bed and a bathroom with jacuzzi.

Canal Court is a hotel that reminds you want real service used to be like and real luxury, the rooms are gorgeous and immaculate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just back from our third one night package stay at this hotel. As always a relaxed, friendly and efficient welcome and check in and without exception all staff excellent. Rooms clean and comfortable - had an Ambassador suite this time. Worth the extra money! Dinner included in the Old Mil Restaurant. Excellent service and great food. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Attended a wedding of a friend here recently and had a great day out and overnight stay.

The hotel is modern, well-run with loads of friendly, efficient staff. The wedding banquet was top class and there were also plenty of local people in enjoying the food and the craic. My room was big, well-equipped and spotlessly clean. Would recommend highly for a wedding etc. Only down side was the fact that the car park is a bit small and some friends had to search for a space in a very busy town centre. So I suppose it's best to check in early!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed overnight at a wedding function - cannot rate the hotel,staff and food highly enough - so friendly and helpful. Even though over 200 plus guests the meal went off so smoothly and the quality was first class and no mad queues at the bar etc - we stayed in a suite and were really pleased with the small touches.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I love the Canal Court. Fantastic food, amazing staff. Deborah the manager is excellent. The rooms are lovely with big comfortable bed. The only negative thing about my experience was Catherine the spa manager really incompetent and lacks customer service skills. The other spa staff are lovely shame about the manager. This hotel is so reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
741 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
331 reviews
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $118 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing