We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Out!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just spent last nite in the Canal Court Hotel on a great offer of dinner bed & breakfast all I can say is...FIRST CLASS!! The staff, the food and entertainment were all great. Definitely will return soon to try out their spa facilities. Very busy hotel, lots going on and staff seem to cope really well, reception staff extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pancake163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was here 2 years ago and i found that the hotel was good very helpful staff, brilliant location, but the food though plenty wasnt brilliant, but that has changed for the better,i was there on friday night with my family and the food was EXCELLENT, we had starters, excellent, then the main course, excellent and then of course we got greedy and had desserts and coffee excellent.. the staff from the reception to the waiting staff were brilliant,any question i asked them they were extremely helpfu,l the waiter in the morning was lovely(i think from cork), nothing was too much for him. the hotel is near 2 big shopping centres, which i like as i love to shop. i have to say i will be back. the hotels have good deals too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martymod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 4 years twice a year. We have always had a great experience here at this hotel. The reason we are in Newry is that they hold the Irish rowing trials nearby on the fabulous Newry Canal. From the minute you make the reservation you get a personalised service. I cannot fault the staff for their courtesy and friendliness. Today was an exceptional day. I had a problem with my door window in my CAR. It would not close...and there was a lot of rain today.... Well after a lot of heaving and trying to contact different sources without a resolve...... SINEAD in reception sorted it all out. She is a great girl. She was fantastic even getting a black bag and celotape to cover the window temporarily....along with telephoning for us when our mobiles did not work..keeping it all together for us....and my god were we stressed. All we could think of was the the five hour drive back to Cork. She even rang us in our room to tell us relax and not to feel pressurised to vacate the room...have a cup of tea. It is lovely to feel you can rely on staff at a hotel environment. Sinead was exceptional in her role today for us..
Thank You,m Sinead form Colette and Leonie Hamel, Cork, South of Ireland.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I couldn't have asked for better. Great service and friendly, down to earth staff' Comfortable clean room. I only uh had the chance to sample the pub food but It was more grand. All in all I couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adhamhnain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is very nicely decorated, plush carpets and swags. Reception is friendly and efficient.The rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms have bath and shower over the bath. TV and tea & coffee available but NO fridge. All rooms have an iron and board. The restaurant is bright and airy; the food and service is very good. The wine list has good choices, cheapest is a reasonable £13.95. Our stay included a meal on one evening so I didn't pay any attention to menu prices. I had goats cheese to start and salmon and scallops as main, both were delicious. We were on the second floor and it was quiet except for a couple of drunks at 2am. The hotel is easy to find and in the middle of a range of shops which is why we had a problem with parking; the car park is not monitored or supervised and therefore on Saturday when we returned from a day out we could not get parked as the parking was full of shoppers. Didn't use the spa, just the pool and gym. Both clean and staff are friendly. Definitely a hotel to be recommended, 4 star instead of 5 because they need to sort out parking.

Room Tip: 224, 226 etc overlook the car park instead of the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Genepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here recently on a business trip. I have also stayed here on business some years ago too. The good standard of the hotel is consistent. The staff are friendly, helpful and very chatty. They really make you feel welcome. The rooms are large, spacious and comfortable. The decor of the hotel has a warm aspect to it. The bar is lovely and you do feel comfortable in there as a woman travelling by herself. I used the gym and found this fine. The breakfast is really tasty but I thought the bar meal was only OK. Food at the bar finished at 7.30 pm which I did find strange. I would have thought it would have carried on to about 9pm. Unfortunately, I have never had the opportunity to explore the local area yet but the hotel does seem very central. I would stay here again and would consider using this hotel as a base for a holiday. It is very comfortable and relaxing. My only quibble would be that the air conditioning seems to make some very strange noises and I did have a bit of a disturbed night's sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youmeandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

was in the canal court earley .december on a xmas shopping trip .we had a great time done plenty of shopping and got great bargains in the shops .hotal was done up lovely for the xmas foor was great ,,,and have 2 say thank 2 ,,donna as she had a birthday banner on my room door ,,cant wait 2 go back for ,,,easter shopping .

Room Tip: room 111 is great if you smoke it at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
721 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
315 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $121 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing