We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again another brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A massive thanks to Deborah Fergurson and her team for a very enjoyable stay. Have been coming to this hotel for numerous years and as always every guest is ensured a great stay Myself and my boyfriend were very well looked after, and any requests were always met. A special thanks to all the reception staff and the restaurant staff, especially the waitress who managed to get us a pudding that was not even on the menu. If you are looking for comfort, an attentive service and value for money Canal Court is the place for a break

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Canal Court Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a brilliant hotel with excellent staff so attentive and extremely hard working, huge bedrooms and clean bathrooms with great restaurants serving fantastic food. The location is ok, handy for shops but thats about it really. Best to have a car so u can drive to places which are only a short drive away but of outstanding beauty. Thank you all at the hotel for making our weekend so memorable. I would recommend this hotel over any other if staying in newry without a doubt, worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glunn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My family booked the hotel for my mums 50th Birthday! I'm so glad we did.

Staff were so pleasant at check in! Went to check in and they had put a 50th banner on my mums door which was a lovely touch, rooms were tidy, spacious and clean.

The ladies of group availed of the spa and all therapists provided a great massage, relaxation room lovely and the outdoor hot tub on roof was bliss!!!

We had dinner reservations that evening and there were plenty if clean plates, top quality food!!! Again staff wer over and beyond and had decorated the table and got us half price passes into the live bad that evening!

The breakfast was amazing and better than any 5 star I've stated in.... Made to order hot food as well as a cold buffet option, fruits, cereals etc!

The hotel has a very warm and homely feel and should b commended for their excellent customer service and great tasting food! Thank you to canal court got a brilliant weekend which my mum thoroughly enjoyed! Def b back x

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckwater19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

From the minute we walked into the Canal Court Hotel we were made to feel really welcome. Every member of staff we came into contact with could not do enough to help. The rooms were extremely spacious and spotlessly clean, beds were huge and very comfy, showers were hot and powerful, breakfast was great with all tastes catered for and the hotel in general was amazing, we truly cannot fault it in any way. If I visit Newry again I won't want to stay anywhere else.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank wend17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here recently for a family wedding and the entire experience was first-class. Check-in was swift and efficient, the food and service at the wedding meal was the best I have ever seen at a large function. Beautiful bedrooms and breakfast the next morning was plentiful. Large car park at the rear of the hotel which meant very little walking with suitcases.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMG186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was our first night in Ireland. We were met by a very warm and friendly staff... who treated us like old friends. The food was superb, the rooms were dynamic and the hospitality, second to none. I would highly recommend this hotel... and it also has many places in walking distance. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gman19641964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the end of October. Lovely friendly staff and the room was much larger than I expected. We ate Bar food on the first night and the food was gorgeous. Definitely recommend eating the Bar Food. We were due to have dinner the second night but were invited out by family. The staff at the desk were very accomodating and offered a voucher for the carvery lunch on the day of check out which greatly impressed me. I used the gym both days and found it very well stocked with equipment. The only slight quibble would be that it was difficult to sleep the 2nd night due to noise levels. However, it was Halloween night so a number of parties were taking place and obviously the party goers were very noisy on their return to their rooms. Excellent hotel and would definitely go again. Nice atmosphere and fabulous stair way at entrance.
Note: If you need to change money to sterling there is a bureau de change just inside the door of the Buttercrane shopping centre just down from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for nonsmoking and a quiet room for a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnaDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
710 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
307 reviews
18.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $119 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing