We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very friendly staff. Rooms spacious especially if you want to do some work.
Breakfast is cooked to order and delicious.
Highly Recommended.
Meal in the lower bar is good value nd tasty and very popular.
Leisure centre is well equiped.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    242
    60
    38
    27
See reviews for
239
267
26
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our group consisted of 5 women on weekend getaway. This was our second year at the canal court. We didn't think last year could be improved upon but to our delight they now have a spa in the hotel. Perfect. Staff were courteous, helpful, polite and friendly. Good Craig too. Definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend after a recommendation from other family members and were not disappointed. We found the staff to be incredibly helpful, both over the phone before our stay and whilst we were there. It was fairly expensive, but our room was clean and spacious and the hotel itself has a range of facilities, which, if we had time to make good use of them, would have made the price seem more than reasonable. The bars do get busy at night time, but our room was quiet. The hotel is in a central location, making it easy to get around and I would very much recommend it. As regular visitors to the area, we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Attended a wedding recently and was very impressed with the hotel and the staff. It can't be easy to serve great food , quickly and efficiently to 240 guests but they managed wonderfully. The room overlooking the canal was clean and spacious. An all round good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeFromMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel very disaapointed in food and service...Bar food wasnt great and servers were too slow.Breakfast in bed was cold and Rubbery!!
The rroms were lovely and clean although we were interuppted quite a few times so they could fix our heating.
Reception staff wer very friendly and helpfull
Lots of car parking spots located right on the doorstep of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the canal ..also one with working heating!!!Rooms at the back tho with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am however very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay and would be extremely grateful if you could contact me to discuss your stay further. I am surprised to hear your comments on our Bar food & service and the only delay that you should have incurred was simply the cooking time of the food. All the food in our Bar Grill is freshly prepared each day & cooked to order but I am unsure if it was a meal or simply light snacks e.g sandwiches / panini's etc which you had chosen.
Breakfast is also freshly prepared and cooked to order and should have arrived at your room moments after being cook in an excellent condition.
In relation to the problem with your heating again I would be keen to learn more on the problems you experienced as we have traditional convection/radiator heating in 51 of our bedrooms and air conditioning for heating or cooling in the remaining 61 rooms, both of which work very well to suit all guest requirements. I am sincerely sorry that you experienced such problems & would be delighted if you could contact me with some detail on the date of your stay so that we can ensure similar experiences are prevented. I can be contacted at anytime on dferguson@canalcourthotel.com or 02830251234

Looking forward to hearing from you & welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future,
Kind Regards & Many Thanks
Miss Deborah Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed overnight for wedding.Lovely hotel,large spacious rooms with massive comfortable bed.Hotel very busy but bar coped well and prices very reasonable for 4 star hotel.Had good meal at wedding but unfortunately couldn't say same for breakfast.Standard of cooked breakfast very poor with anaemic looking soda bread and toast.Had to ask for more toast that was brown this time! The car park is a bit of a nightmare as there is no security on and a lot of people shopping in Newry seem to use this car park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review & I appreciate the kind comments regarding your stay. I am sorry to learn that your breakfast was a disappointment & would be grateful if you could advise me of the date of your stay so that I may investigate this more to prevent any repeat of this disappointment to another guest. I apologise that you also experienced difficulties with Parking & whilst we do not always have car park attendants on duty we do have restrictions in place to try & ensure that car parking is available only for residents & hotel diners. If you are staying with us in the future & you ever experience any difficulties with parking please speak with Reception who will be happy to park your car for you as soon as a space can be located within our carpark, which is locked during the night to ensure safety of guest vehicles.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had only ever driven through Newry to go to Souhern Ireland never thought of stopping over and actually staying there until I got a good deal in the 'Canal Court Hotel' and I went back a second time because I enjoyed it so much.It is handy to two shopping malls plus the older part of the city is nice to walk along also, the market was good to.The swimming pool in the hotel was great and I loved the bar, the food and the surroundings. All in all a pleasant stay in a pleasant hotel with pleasant staff, I might go back for another visit soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front overlooking the canal and watch for the family of ducks swimming up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenmcveigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review & I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I am pleased you had an opportunity to experience the great shopping in Newry City. The two Shopping Centre's, Buttercrane & The Quays, as well as Hill Street Boutiques provide an excellent source of shops to suit all ages & tastes and being located moments from us it is the perfect shopping venue! I do hope you have the opportunity to return & we have many great offers on our website, facebook & twitter pages as well as great Shopping Breaks or Spa & Pamper Breaks to give you the opportunity to enjoy our New Spa & Rooftop Hot Tub - especially welcome after a days shopping!
If myself, or any of the team, can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on dferguson@canalcourthotel.com.
Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
18.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing