We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but great value”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Was staying here whilst on business in Newry and was very impressed by the whole set up. I had a warm welcome upon arrival. Check in was easy and straightforward. The foyer was all decorated for Christmas and a lovely log fire was burning in reception.
I was in room 423 which had a lovely view out over the river. The room was VERY spacious and although not the most modern decor it had everything I needed for a very enjoyable stay. The room was large with a very large kingsize bed (which was very comfortable). The room & bathroom were spotless. Lovely fluffy white towels, an iron & ironing board, 2 bottles of sparkling mineral water along with the usual tea/coffee tray. I slept well as it was very quite and I did not hear any other guests even though the hotel was very busy. Only slight complaint was quality of room service food - I ordered scampi and it was rather greasy and not very well presented - I ended up leaving most of my meal. However breakfast was excellent with friendly staff serving breakfast.
If I was ever back in Newry I would stay here and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Was in room 423 (top floor) which had an excellent view and as it was top floor was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    249
    65
    40
    30
See reviews for
249
290
28
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here overnight with a Groupon offer and had a lovely time. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We enjoyed the leisure centre and had it to ourselves even though it was the Halloween weekend. The lady on reception here was very helpful.We took advantage of Happy hour in the cocktail lounge where the staff again were very friendly.
The dining room that night was very busy but the staff coped very well-we enjoyed our steaks!
The only low point of our stay was at breakfast the next morning. Although the food was excellent unfortunately the service was not. A request for more coffee was ignored and our plates were never cleared away. Despite that I really recommend the Canal Court and hope to stay again soon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey 3352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I had an overnight stay in Canal Court as we attended a family wedding. Check in was smooth and efficient despite it being a busy time. Room comfortable and spacious with little noise from the wedding reception band/disco. At all times staff were courteous and helpful. Food at wedding reception and morning breakfast was good.....hot and plentiful. Although we didn't get a chance to check out the local town, the hotel is very central to shopping areas. Sussing out the different areas and bars was a little challenging so low alcohol levels recommended! All in all, good value for money and super friendly service from smiling and interested staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimihop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

my sister muriel and i .stay in this hotel every few months the staff are so nice .they always welcome us food is lovely ..hotel is spotless we love the shopping as well .we will always stay here and be back for the ,jan sales .

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

a realy good hotel all staff were great , food good , room good , every thing good

i stay at a lot of hotels in my work uk/ireland this is the best , a credit to everyone there

thanks again for a great stay

doug
london

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Visited Canal Court and had lunch, very well priced and hotel lovely and clean and somewhere one could relax and chill out with a bottle of wine and nice company

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in the Canal Court for two days last week (we used our supervalue tokens) just want to say thank you so much, we had a lovely time. Hotel is very clean, our bedroom was fab, most beautiful bed and linen was spotless. Breakfast was lovelyfood very fresh warm and tasty. Service was excellent.
We had dinner in the hotel both nights and the food was delightful. Hotel is situated right in the town so is very easy access to all the fab shops. Having said that it was easy to sleep at night and you would not hear any noise at all. Many thanks to all the staff and the wonderful chef.. Looking forward to going back again next year please god.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
690 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
10.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
18.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing