We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2011

a realy good hotel all staff were great , food good , room good , every thing good

i stay at a lot of hotels in my work uk/ireland this is the best , a credit to everyone there

thanks again for a great stay

doug
london

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

Visited Canal Court and had lunch, very well priced and hotel lovely and clean and somewhere one could relax and chill out with a bottle of wine and nice company

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in the Canal Court for two days last week (we used our supervalue tokens) just want to say thank you so much, we had a lovely time. Hotel is very clean, our bedroom was fab, most beautiful bed and linen was spotless. Breakfast was lovelyfood very fresh warm and tasty. Service was excellent.
We had dinner in the hotel both nights and the food was delightful. Hotel is situated right in the town so is very easy access to all the fab shops. Having said that it was easy to sleep at night and you would not hear any noise at all. Many thanks to all the staff and the wonderful chef.. Looking forward to going back again next year please god.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I bought a groupon deal for one night bed, breakfast and evening meal for myself and my husband for a birthday treat. We were not disappointed. Very easy check-in. Room was very clean and comfortable (a proper bed and not 2 beds pushed together is an absolute bonus!). We also had a canal view which was lovely. The dinner was a main course, side order and glass of wine. No extra money required for ordering steak was much appreciated. Plenty of food that I did not need a dessert after. The wine also was quite nice. The restaurant itself was very romantic as even though we were sitting in the middle of the room there was an L-shaped glass partition around us and we didn't feel exposed. Dim lights and candles on table very nice touch. Breakfast was lovely also. Very fresh and good choice. Used the leisure facilities and one wee negative was that the steam room wasn't very hot but the sauna, jacuzzi, pool and fitness suite were excellent. All-in-all would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Just enjoyed an excellent, relaxing 3 nite stay with a few family members. Sitting in the beautiful reception area with open fire and comfortable sofas we were able to sit and enjoy a cheap pint, £2.50 when the football is on, with my one year old niece which was excellent. A great atmosphere was created throughout the whole hotel. The granary bar had a great wee vibe about it. Really friendly and helpful staff, espicailly the house keeping. Overall highly recomended and will defo be heading back in the near furture. Keep up the hard work my mini break was fab from start to finish for all of us, Mum, Dad, Niece, Cousin and Girlfriend Cheers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your Halloween Break with us. We do hope you have the opportunity to return in the near future for an overnight stay or even for a bite to eat when shopping in the area.
We have great special offers & breaks on throughout the year and these can be found on our website, facebook & twitter pages.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards & Many Thanks
Miss Deborah Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I've just returned from a stay in the Canal Court, we were there as a hen party, there were 19 of us and I just wanted to praise the very helpful receptionists. They were very approachable and lovely.
The hotel itself was great, the rooms are lovely, we had a lovely dinner and breakfast here. We also went to the night club, it was great that everything was on site, but even if we'd wanted to go somewhere else the location was ideal. I never write reviews but I thought i definitely should this time as we'd such a good time and as I said I was very impressed with the receptionists, I don't know their names, but both ladies this morning were helpful and it was one of the ladies from this morning that had been so helpful yesterday. I would definitely recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie110511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying a night here after a wedding reception on the 1st Oct ,regarding the wedding reception this was with out doubt one of the best I was ever at both with the quality of service and the food, the hotel itself has a great atmosphere in all the public rooms and the staff make one very much at home, I found the bar prices very competitive and the rooms we had were perfect , the following morning going down to breakfast I found the bar open to cope with the Rugby match Ireland v Italy fires lit in the bar and a great atmosphere prevailed, and as for breakfast one is set up for the day, We will look forward to a return at our ease, This hotel sets a very high standard Ted Rooney

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
741 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
331 reviews
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $117 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing