We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
dundalk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

stayed in the canal court all i can say it is a fantastic hotel staff very friendly and courteous and very helpfull rooms very great loads of comfort and warm i would highly recomment this hotel to any one it was a pleasure to stay will be back again very soon

Room Tip: it is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerryDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    240
    59
    37
    27
See reviews for
239
264
24
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
nothern ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Arrived back yesterday from a short stay at the Canal Court Hotel, I had an absolute ball. The check in Staff were really nice, very pleasant girls. The hotel room was really gorgeous room 406, queen size bed, robes, 50 inch television, mini bar, large jacuzzi bath. Temperature control room, iron and ironing board. Reallly there is nothing I can think of in a negative way. Dinner was included in the price, catering staff really nice. At night time the bar is busy with a lot of young ones, we didn't make it to the nightclub as we were too tired :(. Breakfast really nice, check out girl Donna couldn't be more helpful. Well done to the Canal Court Hotel, I will be returning asap. Couldn't fault a thing they are doing a brilliant job!

Room Tip: There is a loyalty program within the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodles72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your lovely review & kind comments. I am delighted your stay was a relaxing & enjoyable occassion & we look forward to your return.
Many Thanks

Miss Deborah Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Rooms leave a lot to be desired in ambiance, this is attributed to the poor taste in bedding, draperies, and furnishings. For the price paid I have stayed in 5 star resorts in LUXURY. The hotel lobby is pleasing to the eye with a sense of old charm, but you are not sleeping in the lobby. The one thing they are doing right is the food, fantastic meals in the Granary Bar either off the menu or through the served buffet. I would recommend going in for a meal but staying somewhere else. Canal Court employees are very good in their positions to the point of being efficient at the expense of giving you a warm welcome feeling.The Hotel rating should not be 4 stars, it is really only a 3 charging rates of a 5.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunder747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear Guest

I am extremely dissappointed by your recent experience & would be truly grateful if you would consider contacting me or forwarding me your contact details to discuss your stay further. The hotel is constantly maintained and decorated and I appreciate that the olde world style is not to everyone's taste but I am very concerned that you felt your stay was overpriced or that you did not receive a very warm welcome from all staff. I would be extremely grateful if you could make contact with me by either phone or email as I would be delighted to speak with you regarding your stay.
Many Thanks
Miss Deborah Ferguson
General Manager
dferguson@canalcourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Freindly staff, good food, ideal location. Will stay again, and would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback & it is a pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future & we do hope you join our rewarding loyalty programme to avail of treats for future stays.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

I arrived with business colleagues and the receptionist really set the tone at check-in. Very friendly and warm. Professional without any air of snobbery that you sometimes find. All the staff from the lady vacuuming the staircase to the staff in the bars and restaurants were just splendid.
I had a double room, which was very spacious and spotlessly clean, although I found the decor rather dull. I suppose it was just down to my taste. I had a drab canal view, but Newry wouldn't be the most scenic of towns. ( Not the hotels fault).
Free car-parking on site was excellent.
I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant. All 3 meals were exceptional in quality. I can't rate the food highly enough....just wonderful.
While I find it hard to think of a reason to visit Newry, it would be harder to think of a reason not to visit the Canal Court. I will definitely relish my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind feedback & I do hope you do have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future. If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime.
Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed one nite with 3 friends. It was a get together after one of us got married. We got one nite bed, breakfast, 2 course dinner and a full body massage.. Perfect. Hotel really clean, reception staff were really friendly. Food excellent big portions and very reasonable.. The cocktail bar was great on a saturday nite to sit and drink in. Breakfast next morning was great. Def recommend it and will be back again. Friends have book it since we came back.

P,s location great to the shops and also other bars in Newry..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendakeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback & I am delighted you all had a great time. The New Cocktail Bar is a lovely location for a girlie night out, a bite to eat & some yummy cocktails, so I do hope you get the chance to come back & enjoy again sometime soon.
If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on dferguson@canalcourthotel.com.
Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We went on a two night stay in the hotel and we loved everything about it. The staff were so friendly and helpful, We had our dinner in the hotel both nights and food was excellent. We will definately go back.
Máire Healy

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank healymaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear Ms Healy

Many thanks for your review & kind comments. We do aim to ensure all guests have an enjoyable & relaxing experience with excellent food & service and I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future & if we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime.
Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing