We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
48
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
4
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 53 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at Hillside on 2nd March. Would really recommend it. Clean comfortable room, excellent breakfast and our host went out of his way to make us feel welcome, We were attending a party and when we asked about a taxi he said he would drive us there himself which was brilliant. We will definitely stay there again.


Ray and Eileen.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kneeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks for the review folks - its very much appreciated. It was a real pleasure having you both to stay. I certainly look forward to seeing you on your next visit and as promised when Tripadvisor brings out an option for owners to rate guests I'll give you top marks !!

Best Wishes to you Both


Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just back from a great stay at Hillside Bed and Brekfast in Newry. Hillside was a good choice for our get together, well sited between Belfast and Dublin and with excellent connections to the main A1. Our Bedrooms were big and clean and we all slept very well with comfy beds and the peace and quiet. The guest lounge was spacious, comfortable and a very handy facility for our evening catch ups. Breakfast was very tasty, freshly cooked to order and it set us up for the day. Blair is a great host and nothing we asked for was too much trouble. A first class stay and excellent value for money we would recommend Hillside most highly.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 4 had amazing views over the mountains.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks Mike - It was great having you guys stay with us - feel like an honourary family member now ! Cant wait to see you all again at your next get together. PS Hope the sodas travelled well !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our first night's stay in Northern Ireland, October, 2012, couldn't have been better. At the Hillside B&B rooms were beautifully appointed and amenities, superlative. Owner Blair Vernon’s hospitality was beyond anything we’d expected. Tired and lost in Newry, we called him several times for directions, and finally he drove into town centre and escorted us to near-Nirvana. Breakfast was the best we had in our two-week trip. Much appreciated was the pack-up of his homemade banana bread to see us through our first day's drive. We appreciated Hillside B&B and Blair's generosity so much that, near the end of our two-week trip, we called from the road and made a reservation to stay there for our last night on the road. Beautiful bookends to our journey. Nanette A

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanetteA501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks for those kind words Nanette it was a genuine pleasure having you and Ginny to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were visiting relatives in the area - there are not a lot of choices. This was only 5 minutes from town and easy to find.

Clean. Friendly owner (just recently purchased). A VERY good value (USD50) including breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thanks for your review Joe - it was a pleasure having you and the family stay.

Hope to see you at the next reunioin.

Best wishes Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Having stayed at Hillside for a week, the B & B became our home! My family and I cannot say enough about how wonderful Blair was as our host. The rooms were immaculately clean and quite spacious, and breakfast every morning was something to look forward to. The quiet surroundings and green pastures were very peaceful. We felt we were far enough removed from the city but close enough to travel easily to outside towns and sight seeing. We can't wait to go back.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thanks so much Kelly

Such a great experience meeting the Lanes and "Team San Diego".

It was a genuine pleasure having you all to stay.

The place just isn't the same without you !

Missing you all

Blair ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews