We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new years eve 2008, coldest night of the year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mourne Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Newry
East Antrim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“new years eve 2008, coldest night of the year”
Reviewed January 13, 2009

It was the worst night we have ever had, it was the coldest place in Ireland, the place was like a fridge. £100. for the night, the ballroom was very cold, no heat at all.. the bedroom was very cold, had to use the bedding from the other bed and sleep with my clothes on. no hot water in the bathroom next morning !!.
when I complained, they reduced the £100 to £70, looking back I should have refused to pay , it was not worth £ 70,
never again.
JPS, Co Antrim

  • Liked — nothing at all
  • Disliked — the coldest place in Ireland
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephsexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    23
    12
    19
See reviews for
22
40
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Excellent food, in pleasant surroundings. Really busy place with lots of atmosphere on a Saturday evening - Country Western Bands in the function room - residents get a small concession.
Staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CloverBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

has to be the worst place i have ever stayed in the place needs a major over haul staff un friendly and they were unable to serve breakfast in the morning for what reason i do not know bed rooms were like a prison cell old and smelly ,bar closed at 11.00pm on a friday night ,all in all the worst experience ever

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank tripmember0615201623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newry hotels

glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Stayed here while working in Newry.

Hotel rooms are now all non-smoking, though this hotel should have a makeover. The rooms are dirty looking, smell and the beds are so old they are lumpy.

The staff are here and there in regards to hospitality, probably depends on what mood they are in, as to wether or not you get good service. The heating in the rooms is controlled by reception, silly in my opinion as they don't stick to what you have asked them. The rooms are therefore very cold, the hotel is noisy at times with the banging of doors all throughout the hallways.

The food is decent enough and priced fairly, though sometimes you have to wait a good while to be served, even then you migh get a grumpy waitress.

The bathroom is very bad and in need to new suites. The baths are dirty and they smell of damp.

This hotel is on the boarder of Ireland/NI so is best suited for a one night stay while travelling throught, any more then that and it would be a nightmare. I was here for a while and had a sleeping bag, because the ebds were that bad.

The sheets were dirty, found a few hairs and dirty marks on the sheets. The beds have duvets on them which in my opinion is dirty and the sheets were far from prisitne. Gross. The views are not much to be desired.

The area in general isnt to bad, there is a good shopping area. Anything to keep you out the hotel is a good thing.

Im sure once they invest in doing the hotel up it would be pretty decent, but until then, I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank fluffypants82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

The Mourne Country Hotel is a great hotel conveniently located for travel to all major cities and attractions in Northern Ireland. The staff are polite and helpful, and the rooms although looking a little dated we always found to be clean and comfortable. The only downside I would say is the view from the windows consists mainly of concrete which although it makes for ample car parking space does nothing for the building's image. Perhaps some gardens would be a good idea.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — 'Country' is perhaps a misleading name. It's more 'concrete'
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the housekeeper service! It's excellent
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheepyshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

This is the definately most revolting place I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. We had requested a non-smoking room but the room we were given on arrival reeked of stake cigarettes, despite the window being open. There were numerous ashtrays in the room. We had to sleep with the window open all night due to the stench. As it was November, we were absolutely freezing. There was dried blood on the bedding & yellow stains on the towels. The bedding also had rips in places. We ended up sleeping, fully clothed, with our coats on as well. The bathroom was dirty, with a thick layer of dust on the fixtures, such as the toilet roll holder. There were filthy fingerprints on the walls, around all of the light switches. We had travelled to Newry for the funeral of my Grandfather & our stay at this disgusting pit ensured added stress to this trip to Newry. The Mourne 'Country' Hotel is not in the 'country'. It appears to be right next to a huge council estate. Don't stay here, it's an absolute dump.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank deenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2005

When I checked in, I asked whether (as I had explicitly specified on my online booking) the room was non-smoking, I was amazed to be told that they had no non-smoking rooms! "It should be fine, no-one has smoked in your room for at least a week" said the receptionist. When I said that I'd not stayed in a single hotel worldwide for the last ten years that didn't have non-smoking rooms, she told me they were thinking of introducing them - innovative!

All the corridors to the rooms stank of stale smoke.

As a previous reviwer said, the room was somewhat tired. The bed also felt cold and damp; it clearly had not been properly aired for some time.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank UK-EastAngle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
3.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
17.4 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
16.5 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mourne Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourne Country Hotel

Property: Mourne Country Hotel
Address: 52 Belfast Road, Newry BT34 1TR, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mourne Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Mourne Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourne Country Newry
Mourne Country Hotel Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing