We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch”
Review of The Brass Monkey

The Brass Monkey
Ranked #14 of 128 Restaurants in Newry
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very stange decor I thought but a lovely warm welcome and great service throughout. Went for lunch and had a pie which was the special that day. Very good value and tasty food. Will definitely be back for lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnonymousBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrassMonkey2014, Public Relations Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for the review, and it was lovely to see that you had a nice lunch. Our Facebook is updated daily with our specials, if you are ever curious check us out.

We look forward to having you back.

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

3 of us Visited in feb for Sunday lunch after hearing place has changed hands. It Is being run now by a great, experienced, well known local woman. Food was great, with choice of full Sunday carvery and a la carte menu, service was good, our order was misplaced and took a little bit longer than it should have to arrive at the table but once this was noticed apologies were made and our drinks were removed from the bill as a goodwill gesture. It was very busy and had great atmosphere also. We will def be back and hope it continues to do well.

Thank Loh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrassMonkey2014, Public Relations Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi There,

Thank you firstly for such a nice review it really means alot to us! I would also like to take this chance to also thank you for understanding about misplacing your order but I really hope it was worth the wait!

Thanks once again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Went for lunch I had baked potatoe with chicken my hubby had the lunch special roast beef both wer lovely and well presented and service was fast and pleasant,will definitely be going back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wizardcrilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrassMonkey2014, Public Relations Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review, it means alot that yoou have taken the time to write to us!

We look forward to having you back with us

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The brass monkey is under new management, the new owner is Marie Therese. the bar is very warm and friendly has soon as you enter the place.
The food is excellent and prices are low, the bar staff are charming.
The weekend is great cric,
Will certainly be coming back to the Brass Monkey

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chrismck30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrassMonkey2014, Public Relations Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Chris,


Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to having you back!

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

four of us went for a lunchtime meal on Saturday at 2pm we knew it was under New Managment for about a month, the first thing we noticed was the Atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. We were met with a very charming barman who supplied us with our drinks and and a menu, we ordered the Traditional Fish & Chips, we were not disappointed the meal was perfect in everyway with a side salad put in as well. The prices were low but the standard was excellent. Thats why i named this review More Class than Brass we will bo going back as a regular now and we will certainly pass the word on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrassMonkey2014, Owner at The Brass Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Jackie,

Thank you for such a lovely review, I have notified the barman that was on that day and he also passes his thanks for a the compliment. We look foward to having you as one of our regulars.

MT
X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brass Monkey also viewed

 

Been to The Brass Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing