We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food lovely”
Review of The Brass Monkey

The Brass Monkey
Ranked #18 of 119 Restaurants in Newry
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food lovely”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The food is lovely but would not recommend the soup on some occasions, what was meant to be vegetable tasted like pumpkin and turnips...yuck unless you like that taste. The pints are sometimes flat so stick to bottles. Service is so friendly and the staff are some craic, packed on weekends, they are doing something right :) although to me it looks a bit like a lap dancing club in vegas lol probably just me but would recommend going there for a meal and a good time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aislinn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrassMonkey2014, Public Relations Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Aislinn,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We take on all comments and are grateful for them. Our soup is now changed daily and varies on flavours.

It is great to see that you enjoyed the craic with our staff as we want everyone to feel at home and relaxed at The Brass Monkey.

Hope to see you again

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    53
    19
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“new owner is delightful”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

just taking over by marie therese who run,s a very warm and friendly bar, food is excellent, service is great, atmosphere is very welcoming log fire with very chic decor, a must to visit when in newry

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rose127Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrassMonkey2014, Owner at The Brass Monkey, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Rose,

Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review! We hope everything was to your liking and that you will call in again soon!

Thanks again

MT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have been here many times, and never a bad meal yet. home made hamburger is the best i ever had, i always found the staff very friendly and helpful, love the atmosphere and cosy fire.
I can honestly say its one of the best restaurants in newry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annmarierascalroryke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food OK.. Service Poor and Table Setting Very Poor”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a table booked for 14 people, when we arrived we were sitting by the Window in the rather nice big comfy seats which would be Perfect if there was just 6 people in your Party, we had a table squeezed onto the end with 5 chairs round that little square table , 2 off our party had to sit at the corners and these two people were big Men! Table was not set great, a Napkin with 1 knife 1 fork, No Glasses , No salt / pepper etc.. Service to Begin with was fine, the lady who took the Order was very helpful, food was quick to come out and food was also Good , a few Steaks got mixed up but that's not to worry they were easily swapped among ourselves... once the Main Course was served that was it, a Different girl had come to clear our table and we never seen a waitress again, we were not offered a Sweat, Tea, Coffee or anything.... It was a Saturday night and I appreciate that it is a Very busy night but a Table should not be left like that, staff should be coming back and forth checking if everything is OK and did we need or like anything else! I would go back, but it would only be for a bar snack at lunch time I do not recommend for an evening meal at the weekend!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank niamhy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant night out”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great night out with work colleagues, had lovely music and bar scene and food was great, staff very friendly, nice vegetarian choices but a bit pricey

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brass Monkey also viewed

 
Newry, County Down
 

Been to The Brass Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing