We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Brass Monkey

The Brass Monkey
Ranked #13 of 125 Restaurants in Newry
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to try here so met a friend for lunch. Always thought looked nice from outside. Sat lunchtime and place was empty. Asked for toasted sandwich but had to order sonething off menu. More dinner type menu. Thought that was bit strange a chef couldnt put a sandwich together. Ordered chicken goujons as thought couldnt get them wring. Very poor chicken. Chips werent properly cooked. Very disappointing and wont be back. Staff looked like they didnt care. Shame as decor is quite nice inside.they should invest in a good chef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank bkell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for The Brass Monkey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 220 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Decided to try out Brass monkey with the family due to recent refurb. Got a table straight away as place wasn't busy and got drink order very swiftly. Wasn't ready to give order immediately when waitress returned. After approx 20mins I decided to ask at the bar if we could order our food to which the bar man followed and took our order. Food arrived eventually with huge disappointed. Kids pasta was tastless and little sauce, peppered mediallion was just simply slices of roast beef smothered in peppered in sauce and the 8oz fillet steak to be medium was an over well and very dry quarter pounder. After asking for a fork and and pepper sauce for the fillet, I waited a further 10 mins and still neither had arrived. I ended up using my childs fork and having to again go the bar and ask for my sauce. Bar man arrive 5 mins later with sauce and no fork. An experience not to be repeated!! Just going to pick the rest of the steak out of my teeth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank shorty2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We plan to visit some steak house with my colleagues... but we sudenly lost direction. As we were really hungry we decide to stop at unknown place... From outside it does not look very fancy, but much better inside.
I order Brass Hamburger and it was best burger I ever eat (really!!) ... tasty, nice portion of meat and bacon. covered by chees. Wonderfull. (seems like) home made chips. With glass of guiness and very nice service, it was nice evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Majlo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, glad you enjoyed our new interior layout and also our delicious new menu. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Went for lunch with 5 work colleges and our food was very disappointing. The fish wasnt cooked and the batter greasy. The salads were of the poorest quality. The only good thing about our visit was the coffee it was lovely as where the waitresses. Wont be back and wont recommend it to any of our family and friends.

4  Thank Ammd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your dining experience with us. I am sorry to note that your meal was not to your satisfaction. As you stated in your review, yourself and five other colleagues dined with us choosing to eat of our Lunchtime menu. You choose to have our fish which is cooked in a light beer batter. You claim that the fish was not cooked ! We can assure you that all our food is cooked correctly and at the right temperatures. Our Salads as with all our produce and ingredients are locally sourced and delivered daily. I feel that the review is very harsh and would like to emphasise that you we not charged for this meal and that we were very apologetic about your situation. The fact that you and your party choose to order desserts and coffees would be an indicator that your colleagues were very satisfied with the food and service they were given. We at Cafe Brass strive to ensure that each customer has an enjoyable experience at our eatery and that we are sorry that your experience was not an enjoyable one. We have taken on board your constructive criticism and should you choose to dine with us again, we are confident your dining experience will be an enjoyable one. Kind Regard. The Maagement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The title says it all really. The restaurant has recently been completely refurbished and looks great. The menu was good and food was delicious. I have visited the Brass Monkey twice in one month for Lunch and Dinner and was NOT dissappointed! Food was fresh, tastey and enjoyed by all at our table.

The staff at the restaurant are very helpful and service was fast. I would definately recommend this restaurant for both lunch and dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cristine34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your great review, glad you enjoyed your visits to our newly refurbished bar and repeat custom is always great to see. Hope to see you again very soon

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brass Monkey also viewed

 

Been to The Brass Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing