We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of The Brass Monkey

The Brass Monkey
Ranked #15 of 120 Restaurants in Newry
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
newry, uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Went for lunch with 5 work colleges and our food was very disappointing. The fish wasnt cooked and the batter greasy. The salads were of the poorest quality. The only good thing about our visit was the coffee it was lovely as where the waitresses. Wont be back and wont recommend it to any of our family and friends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ammd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your dining experience with us. I am sorry to note that your meal was not to your satisfaction. As you stated in your review, yourself and five other colleagues dined with us choosing to eat of our Lunchtime menu. You choose to have our fish which is cooked in a light beer batter. You claim that the fish was not cooked ! We can assure you that all our food is cooked correctly and at the right temperatures. Our Salads as with all our produce and ingredients are locally sourced and delivered daily. I feel that the review is very harsh and would like to emphasise that you we not charged for this meal and that we were very apologetic about your situation. The fact that you and your party choose to order desserts and coffees would be an indicator that your colleagues were very satisfied with the food and service they were given. We at Cafe Brass strive to ensure that each customer has an enjoyable experience at our eatery and that we are sorry that your experience was not an enjoyable one. We have taken on board your constructive criticism and should you choose to dine with us again, we are confident your dining experience will be an enjoyable one. Kind Regard. The Maagement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    53
    19
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant and Well Worth aA Visit!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The title says it all really. The restaurant has recently been completely refurbished and looks great. The menu was good and food was delicious. I have visited the Brass Monkey twice in one month for Lunch and Dinner and was NOT dissappointed! Food was fresh, tastey and enjoyed by all at our table.

The staff at the restaurant are very helpful and service was fast. I would definately recommend this restaurant for both lunch and dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cristine34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Manager at The Brass Monkey, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your great review, glad you enjoyed your visits to our newly refurbished bar and repeat custom is always great to see. Hope to see you again very soon

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Went for lunch, not a huge selection. Both myself and husband had a chicken burger - was nice but nothing to shout about!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AO84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Teething Problems Perhaps?”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The restaurant is newly furnished not my taste, to be honest, but most reviews are positive about this so that is fine. Food I have to say was not good, fish in batter tasted like grease no freshness or taste to the fish at all.

Risotto was a deep grey colour, very rich flavour though and could have been salvaged if it was not for overcooked monkfish and a roasted half lemon which just oozed a watery lemon juice.

19 reviews of this restaurant are positive. We may have found chef on a bad day. I still would not want to return due to the lack of detail with regard to the preparation and presentation of our food. Great chips! Service very good. Constructive criticisms, buy fresh and take pride in presentation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gobi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A night out with the girls”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went to Cafe Brass on Wednesday 27th with my 3 girlfriends for our tea. Menu is basic but chicken strips are very tasty - in fact everything we had was delicious. Service first class with a good witty waiter/bar man who packed up a wee dogy bag for my dog and my friends dog with a personalised message.
Seating very comfortable- excellent table service - we didn't have to go to the bar once. Would def reccomend it....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EFlynn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brass Monkey also viewed

 
Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 

Been to The Brass Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing