We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Chips....”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Frair Tucks

Frair Tucks
Ranked #62 of 116 Restaurants in Newry
Cuisines: Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Chips....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The only thing going for Friar Tucks is the lovely chips.

I ordered and asked if I could get a small amount of garlic sauce instead of the BBQ sauce with my chicken nuggets, (not even the full tub of sauce they do) as I am allergic to many BBQ sauces (so just don't chance it any more!) The woman serving me said she would have to charge me! I had eaten in before and this had never been done before as I was getting such a small quantity - I told her this and she said it was £1 for garlic sauce, even though I was not having their BBQ sauce.

She was so incredibly rude - no need for it.

Awful customer services.

No matter how nice the chips are - I will not be going back! (the 2 is for the chips)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    4
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armagh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont Go There”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Prefer Macdonalds and Little Chef than Friar Tucks. Cant think of worse food. Actually I know one place but not in Ireland

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FizzBArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service is very poor food is worse.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Friar tucks if your drunk and hungry and in the area after been on a nite out,not to be eaten any other time as its a hit and miss.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“" A Dump "”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

If your buying here in the evening don't they serve it up like serving pigs, they think everyone is drunk, I wouldn't feed my dog what they dish out,,,, manners are long gone here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER WITH THIS "RESTERAUNT"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Warrenpoint branch is definatly to be avoided as remarked they serve up small portions totally ignoring the portion sizes they clearly display, not many resteraunts deliberlitly decieve their customers in this manner so the fact that they even attempt it surley shows their buisness practice if they do this god knows what else they do behind the counter I have stopped using all Friar tucks entirley due to my bad experience in warrenpoint and as I had previously and regulary used the newry branch bringing kids out on youth trips it has cost them money

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frair Tucks also viewed

Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 

Been to Frair Tucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing